Mexican Food To Go Favorite Salsa Recipes

October 28, 2007 Jasmine

A little blurry but the other two were worse.

So I decided to try a new salsa recipe tonight. I will update with pictures tomorrow. It was actually pretty good. We had chicken tacos and beans with it. I am going to have to have more before I can form a real opinion. I like that it has olive oil and vinegar in it. Olive oil is one of the, “healthier, good for you”, fats. Vinegar is supposed to help lower blood sugar in all people. I tried oil and vinegar on a salad before and just couldn’t do it again any time soon. haha There was a bit of tang to it so maybe I should tweak it a bit, we’ll see.

Normally for salsa I just chop up tomatoes, onion, garlic, and maybe some cilantro, throw in a few chili flakes. Alot of times I add some tomato sauce to it. Pretty simple.

This is the recipe we tried tonight.
Mexican Food To Go Favorite Salsa Recipes

4 medium tomatoes, peeled and chopped
1/2 cup finely chopped onion (up to 1 cup)
1/2 cup finely chopped celery
1/4 cup finely chopped green pepper (bell pepper)
1/4 cup oil
2 tbsp finely chopped green chiles
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp mustard seed
1 tsp cilantro (coriander) seed, crushed (or fresh cilantro leaves)
1 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients. Cover and chill, stirring occasionally. Serve with corn chips.

I doubled this and substituted apple cider vinegar and I don’t believe I have any mustard seed on hand. I used the whole bunch of cilantro, not just a few tsp’s. You know what I want? I want a recipe for the salsa that the local Mexican restaurant has. Maybe I will figure it out eventually. What is your favorite salsa recipe? I have some corn flour, tomorrow I just may try my hand at fresh corn tortillas as well.

Entry Filed under: cooking,healthy,mexican

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 8:16 am

    […] Joe and I really enjoyed this recipe last night on our chimichangas. Some bites were a little hot but the sourcream cooled it off and I can’t wait to try it today with chips. For me I usually like salsa best the day after it is made, after it has had time to chill. There were so many different flavors in this it was wonderful! I like it better than my other salsa. […]

  • 2. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 10:02 am

    […] Wednesday: Beef, Bean & Cheese Chimichangas with Tomatillo Salsa and Sour cream, maybe some Spanish Rice Here is my old salsa recipe […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
