Home made Creamy Chocolate Pudding

December 5, 2007 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

pudding

Make your own pudding packets for only .42 cents. Aren’t they like $1.50 in the stores most of the time? I think once in a while I see it on “sale” for $1.00.

1 1/2 cups plus 2 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
3 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 1/3 cup cornstarch
1/2 tsp salt

Basically add all the ingredients together and stir with a wire whisk. This makes enough for 6 cups of dry mix. Which is enough for 6 packets of chocolate pudding mix.

1 cup of mix
2 3/4 cups milk
2 TBS butter
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

In a sauce pan add the mix and the milk. Cook and stir until it thickens. Remove from heat and add in butter and vanilla. Makes 6 servings. Enjoy!

I will have to check the prices again at Smart N Final but from what I remember the cocoa is $5.69 for 16 oz(4 cups), the corn starch is $3.00 for 10 lbs(40 cups) and the sugar is $3.00 for 5 lbs(20 cups), I didn’t bother adding the salt.

So $1.90 for cocoa, .49 cents for sugar, .10 cents for corn starch = $2.49 divided by 6 = .415 cents each, so .42 cents each. 🙂 Oh I forgot to add in the butter but really, how much can it be? lol Not much more. 😉

What do you like to do with chocolate pudding? DO you like to make chocolate pie? Or just as a treat for the family?

Entry Filed under: cooking,desserts,oamc,recipes

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  December 10, 2007 at 11:13 am

    Wow looks like something I can dive into!

  • 2. Jasmine's Journey  |  December 10, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    I need to find my pictures I took of the vanilla as well. They are both very yummy!

  • 3. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  January 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    […] have chocolate pudding mix in the cupboard. If you would like to learn how to make this from scratch click on that for the […]

  • 4. Niki  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I am going to try this recipe. I love that you can make something from scratch and not only save money but it is healthier. I love to know what I am eating…

  • 5. jasmine  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Thanx for stopping by. Yes I am the same way. They put alot into boxed mixes that I don’t care for. If you remember, drop by and tell me how you like it.

    The other day we made Chocolate pudding pie for dessert with home made cool whip! I posted a recipe for that as well.

    I don’t think with the cool whip it saves money, because heavy whipping cream is like $5.00 for a qt but considering the fact that cool whip has trans fat in it that is enough for me. The can of aerosol, reddi whip has no trans fat but that is like $5.00 too!

    I’ll have to look and figure out exactly the cost but we had the heavy cream on hand and it saved us a trip to the store.

    Chocolate Pudding Pie and Home Made cool Whip recipe

  • 6. amanda  |  July 2, 2008 at 1:26 am

    I love it! Yum

  • 7. jasmine  |  July 2, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Hi Amanda,

    Glad you like it!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
