Texas Sheet Cake

January 4, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

cake

..mmmmmm…this is the same recipe as the California Round Cake that I made earlier this month except I used all purpose flour instead of the wheat this time.

texas sheet cake

I also used the baking sheet this time instead of the round pans. It was really great. Even more awesome than last time.

texas cake 2

I think maybe next time I will compromise and use half/half. It was so good I even went back for a second piece. It was melt in your delicious. We ate it warm. I managed to save dh the two last pieces so he can take to work soon.

This recipe is really great and you will love it.

Texas Sheet Cake

Pioneer Woman Chocolate Sheet Cake
Combine in a mixing bowl:
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt

In a saucepan, melt:
2 sticks butter
Add 4 heaping tablespoons cocoa. Stir together.
Add 1 cup boiling water, allow mixture to boil for 30 seconds, then turn off heat. Pour over flour mixture, and stir lightly to cool.

In measuring cup, pour 1/2 cup buttermilk.
Add:
2 beaten eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla

Stir buttermilk mixture into butter/chocolate mixture. Pour into sheet cake pan and bake at 350-degrees for 20 minutes.

While cake is baking, make icing:
Chop 1/2 cup pecans finely.
Melt 1 3/4 sticks butter in a saucepan.
Add 4 heaping tablespoons cocoa, stir to combine, then turn off heat.
Add:
6 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 lb minus 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Stir together.
Add pecans, stir together, and pour over warm cake.

Cut into squares, eat, and totally wig out over the fact that you’ve just made the best chocolate sheet cake. Ever.

Entry Filed under: baking,desserts,texas sheet cake

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:27 am

    […] it out you cover it and let it rest for 10 minutes. I have a huge rubbermaid container that fits my texas sheet cake perfectly. It was just the right size to hold one dough so I could roll out the other dough. I was […]

  • 2. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 8, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    […] people this cake is THAT good. People will call and offer to pay you to make it for them! Click here for the […]

  • 3. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 20, 2008 at 7:22 am

    […] used the texas sheet cake recipe for the cake part and used a butter/confectioners sugar recipe for the frosting. I added pink and […]

  • 4. Raani  |  April 24, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I’m going to make this one for my husband!

  • 5. jasmine  |  April 25, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Hi Raani!

    This one is exceptional.

    Remember to use real butter at least for the frosting. If you can spare it for the cake part too as this is decadently delicious. This was the cake I named my website after. I named it dangerously Delicious and thought that sums up alot of food here! LOL

    Get butter from costco or smart n final cheaper.

    A co worker of Joe’s has asked me to make it twice for her and offered to pay me for it! The second time I took the money. haha

    I have also made cupcakes out of these. The frosting is thin and wont “poof” so it goes along way. When i make cupcakes I double the cake part and use one frosting for all 48. It breaks down to .10 cents a cupcake.(I don’t use any nuts)

    I get raves about this cake whenever I make it.

    Here is a picture of the chocolate cupcakes but with a different frosting.

    dd

    Here is a picture of them with just the frosting in this recipe.

    ff

  • 6. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  June 11, 2008 at 7:00 am

    […] not for long. I was all set to use the texas sheet cake recipe and make cupcakes to sell. I was going to make 48. Usually when I do this I double the cake […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
