How to make Chocolate Pudding Pie

January 27, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , , ,

chocolate pie

Believe it or not after making two loaves of bread yesterday around dinner time all of it except 5 thick slices were gone when I went to make lunch for dh. haha So I made two more loaves tonight. We had some bread with dinner, a salad and some vegetable lasagna I got on sale at Costco. It was $6.29 for 2 40 oz boxes with my $3.00 off coupon. Not a bad deal for a quick and easy dinner.

I prefer making our own lasagna. When I do we make 4 at a time but I didn’t have any ready tonight. I asked Joey what he thought of it and he kind of mumbled.

“What. What? You don’t like it? Is it missing something?” I ask.

“Yeah it is missing meat!” he responds, while trying to chew.

“Well that is the point. It is vegetable lasagna,” I said. (hahahahahah)” I think it tastes good. I like all the little vegetables in it.”

“The vegetables are fine, next time add some chicken or something. Have we ever done that before?”

“Nope. Usually I just add ground turkey and/or sausage.”

Not one to disappoint my sweetie I thought of a great plan. One sure to put a smile on everyone’s face, even the cats! Let’s make dessert!! I have had a quart of heavy whipping cream in the fridge since Christmas. “We” as in”I” were supposed to make banana cream pudding and after all the other baking and all the pounds that came with it, “we” haven’t done it yet. The quart expires in February.

I open a package of vanilla pudding mix only to realize that “sweetened condensed milk” is NOT the same as evaporated milk. Why on earth was I thinking it was? I stuck that in a container with a lid. Tossed it back in the cupboard.

Oh look what I see. An oreo cookie crust left over from x~mas that I was supposed to use for chocolate cheese cake.Yes there is 8 oz of cream cheese still in my fridge but to my credit there were originally like 5. 3 went to making cherry cheesecake, 1 went to eat with our bagels.

I have chocolate pudding mix in the cupboard. If you would like to learn how to make this from scratch click on that for the recipe.

pudding mix

I asked Joey if he could look up a recipe online to make our own cool whip using heavy whipping cream. He did. He even came in and whipped it up for us. He is just that awesome. 😉

Whipped Cream Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

* 1 cup heavy cream
* 1/4 cup sugar
* 1 teaspoon vanilla

HOW TO PREPARE:

You need to whip cream until it is almost stiff. Add the sugar and vanilla; then beat until cream holds peaks. Use it to top dessert of your choice.

coolwhip

That is a picture of it in the mixing bowl. He doubled the recipe and it filled up an old yogurt container that was 32 oz. Before I even knew it he poured the some what cooled down pudding into the pie crust and put it in the fridge. I found out and used the leftover pudding to make snack cups for Joe’s lunch and dd # 3. We had enough for 7. Thank goodness I got to the cool whip before he did or there would of been none left. lol I got the snack cup idea from my buddy Sonshine.

snack cup

The other kids eat lunch at school so they get pie tonight and that is it. DD # 3 will be happy to have this for a treat tomorrow.

snack cup2

What did you have for Sunday dinner? Did you have dessert?

Entry Filed under: desserts,dinner,family,recipes,snack ideas

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    You make 4 lasagnas at a time? That is a great idea!

  • 2. jasmine  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I sure do. 🙂 Here is where I blogged about it.

    Lasagna

    Lasagna link # 2

    It is my way of OAMC. I am not up for cooking a months worth of meals in a day or two. But every once in a while I like to go in and make a bunch of stuff at once.

    When you are already making lasagna or enchiladas, it is very easy to just make up 1-2-3 pans more and freeze those. 🙂

  • 3. Sonshine  |  April 13, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Love it!! 🙂

    I am sooo far behind in reading blogs lately!! I didn’t even know that you had posted about your pudding cups!

    Anyway, how are those little cups working for you?? 🙂

  • 4. jasmine  |  April 20, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Hi Sonshine. These little cups are great but I make them few and far between.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
