How to buy Filet Mignon for $4.07 a lb!

January 28, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , , , ,

tip

How to get Filet Mignon for $4.07 a lb!

Okay so we shop and buy meat when it goes on sale and stock up. Well when T bone or ribeye goes on sale we will buy a few packs. I found out this tip from a friend earlier on in the month.

She once asked a butcher what was the difference between a T bone and a porter house steak, cause they both looked the same to her, but porterhouse was .10 cents more. He told her that the porterhouse is a T bone steak with the smaller side of the steak actually being filet mignon.

WOW! She also told me that when the T bone goes on sale the porterhouse usually does as well. So we went to Staters that night and sure enough porterhouse was on sale for $4.07 a lb. She told me normally the filet part is a thinner strip but last night the filet part was very big.

It was REALLY good! We even saute’d mushroom and onions in butter to top it. I didn’t get a picture though. Those steak are so big I told dh we should go back Sunday and get more, slice off the filet and freeze separately. If you didn’t know, filet mignon sold as “filet mignon” is very expensive.

For more tips check out Tammy’s recipes!

Entry Filed under: beef,Kitchen tip Tuesday,tips,Tips on saving money

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic  |  January 29, 2008 at 6:38 am

    I love your blog! Makes me hungry… πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing those great tips!
    Why is the comment thingy Portuguese?

  • 2. Jessie's Attic  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Thanks for that tip, I am going to have to keep my eyes out and get my man some filet mignon!! woooo

  • 3. jasmine  |  January 29, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Hi Nic,

    Thanx for stopping by. Yeah lots of yummy food here. Well I have had a fun time translating almost the entire blog from portugese to english! That is how the theme came. I have been changing it as I find it. Hope you are all set now. πŸ™‚

    Jess

    You are welcome. I am thinking that for V day would be great if we don’t go out.

  • 4. jasmine  |  January 29, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Nic,

    Your link wasn’t working so I went in and edited it. You left out the c in .com. Its all good now. πŸ™‚

  • 5. Nic  |  January 29, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Thanks for editing my link! I see it now. Yes I am Dutch, but I used to be a foreign exchange student in Indiana (eight years ago).
    Thanks for dropping by my blog!

  • 6. jasmine  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Your welcome for both. I look forward to getting to know you. I am sure you enjoyed your time in the states.

  • 7. Jen@BigBinder  |  January 30, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I just learned this fact the other day at a steak house, our server told us. My husband is a filet minion snob and I am relieved to know I can get it for less πŸ™‚

  • 8. jasmine  |  January 30, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Yeah that would be a relief. Read here for my article about going out to dinner the other night.

    Woody’s Cocky Bull Restaraunt Review

    It is still hard for me to believe that porterhouse goes for $29.99 at a restaraunt!! That is crazy.

    I think steak is on sale again at the store and I noticed this Sunday shrimp is also on sale for half price. Right now it is $2.99 a lb. I need to stock up and us have a date night once a week at home. πŸ™‚

    Thanx for stopping in.

  • 9. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:25 am

    […] Hamburgers for the kids, Filet Mignon for the adults with Sautee’d Mushrooms and Mashed Potatoes with Salad. I will be making […]

  • 10. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 8, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    […] think of a better name. Well I mentioned the other day how to get filet mignon for $4.07 a lb.Β  Click here. But now what do you do with it? When my best friend was up here we got out the bottle of […]

  • 11. judy  |  September 7, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    You guys do a wonderful job! Keep up the good work!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
