Stromboli

January 29, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

stromboli

Well I broke my menu plan. I was busy doing other things. 😉

Yesterday when I was pondering what bread to make Joey for lunch for the net few days he told me at lunch time to make more Stromboli. He could microwave it at work. SO I made up enough dough for 2 of the huge ones I am sure you have seen pics of. Split it into 8 pieces. I went a little easier on the cheese. For one big one it calls for 3 cups of cheese so that would be 3/4 cups each.

I just used 1/2 a cup since there wasn’t much cheese left thawed out and if I had one I didnt want the extra 120 cals.

I was so good not having any til Chris comes in last night AFTER dinner and wants one. I can’t tell him no. lol He is skinny and a teenage boy and burns it off. I had a tiny piece of his. lol

stromboli2

Then today I sent Joey with 2, he said when he came home he was going to want another one! I said you are going to be eating dinner when you get home.

So what.

hahahaha He also said he wants me to make a few dozen up for him and he is going to eat them all! lol I need to post that recipe soon for you guys. lol

He gets home and wants one, I warm it up and it looks so good I just have to have one! Later he is still hungry so we had some thin crust costco pizza we threw in the oven for everyone. I told everyone if they were still hungry we have home made freezer meals.

Entry Filed under: cooking,dinner,family,italian

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic  |  January 31, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Is Stromboli kind of like calzone?

  • 2. jasmine  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Hi Nic,

    Yes it is very much like a calzone. This is the post where I discussed it more in detail:

    Double Trouble: Twin Stromboli

    I need to sit down soon and just write out the recipe for everyone. They are really good.

  • 3. Melissa  |  May 1, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    My husand took me to a place recently that is well-known for its stromboli. It wasn’t all that it was cracked up to be though, because the dough was a bit heavy. I prepared the stromboli dough recipe on your site, and it was perfect…exactly the way dough is supposed to be…light and airy. This dough is perfect for pizza too. I will probably never look for another recipe for pizza or stromboli dough ever again!

  • 4. jasmine  |  May 3, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Melissa,

    I have never had stromboli out anywhere. the first time I heard about it was in that book. LOL

    That is great this recipe was better than anything you can buy out somewhere! It is the best for pizza.

    After a few times of making the stromboli I started using it for my pizza dough and it is awesome. I used to try a new pizza dough recipe about once every week to two weeks. I have not tried a new one in like months! haha

    It is prefect. I don’t ever need another recipe either. I may try other ones in the future just to try though. What would be nice is to find a perfect whole wheat pizza dough. Since I have discovered this recipe I have not made any whole wheat pizza dough and have only made whole wheat bread once.

    Thank you for commenting.

    I need to put up his bread recipe soon.

    ~ Jasmine


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
