WFMW: How to Make brown sugar!

January 29, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

wfmw

Tired of paying $1.00 or more for a lb of brown sugar? Or even more annoying is it hardening up, you go to use it and it’s like trying to break through rock. If you keep molasses on hand you don’t have to rush off to the store JUST for brown sugar.

Here is how to make it:

Measure out 1 cup of granulated sugar and 1 tablespoon of molasses into a mixing bowl.
Stir it with a fork until it is completely mixed. It is now ready!

Here is a tip:

To make dark brown sugar, increase the molasses to two tablespoons.

I don’t even bother measuring this separately. If I am making something I just throw the sugar and the molasses in the mixer bowl with whatever ingredients at the same time.

Hope this helps!

For more great ideas, check out WFMW hosted by Rocks in my Dryer

Entry Filed under: baking,tips,Tips on saving money,WFMW

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robin  |  January 30, 2008 at 12:00 am

    What a helpful tip. Thanks.

  • 2. Alex  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:10 am

    That is very helpful…I will now have to keep molasses on hand! Thanks for th tip.

  • 3. Kim  |  January 30, 2008 at 9:02 am

    I’ll have to remember that! THX

  • 4. Sonshine  |  January 30, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Great tip! Now to get and keep molasses in the house!

  • 5. jasmine  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    You are welcome ladies. What I do is get a big jug from Smart N Final, I think it is like a gallon or half a gallon. It is pretty cheap. I then just refill my small jar of molasses. 🙂

  • 6. Nic  |  January 31, 2008 at 3:15 am

    I don’t think we have molasses here. But did you know you can soften brown sugar in the microwave? It’s really easy. It also works with cane sugar.

  • 7. jasmine  |  January 31, 2008 at 8:32 am

    It may be called by another name there. Thanx for the tip on the microwave. I think I have tried that before. 🙂

  • 8. Raani  |  April 24, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    This is a great tip! I had no idea you could do that.

  • 9. jasmine  |  April 25, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Hi Raani,

    I usually buy molasses in bulk from Costco or Smart N Final. You can get a huge container pretty cheap.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
