How to Make Eric Treuille’s Stromboli

February 1, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

stromboli

So it is finally here. The recipe I have been promising for weeks! I got a pm this morning from a friend on a board I frequent and she said she tried Stromboli after reading about it on my blog and that it was great. A real family pleaser. That reminded me that I needed to not be so greedy and share this wonderful recipe with all of you.

This recipe is really awesome! The first time I made this I followed the directions exactly except I had no fresh basil, just dried. I also have dried rosemary. I didn’t have the smoked mozzarella either so I substituted cheddar cheese. Everything else was the same and you can see the picture of it at the top. I call it Double Trouble: Twin Stromboli. Click this link to hear me rave about it last week and to see more pictures of the process of making it. Stromboli

stromboli

I made those two big ones that one night and Joey, my dh said it needed a bit less salt. He also doesn’t like things cooked for too long(breads). So the next time I made up enough for 6 big ones but I took each one and cut it into 4 small ones. I halved the salt and pepper. Oh my Lord! We were eating Stromboli for days!! But it was wonderful! Everyone loved it!

stromboli

I told myself that was enough but yesterday he said you have GOT to make me more Stromboli for my work lunches! He had 2 at work and wanted one when he came home too! He can’t get enough of them and neither can the kids. They are like hot pockets but without all the garbage ingredients the store has in them. We also added mushroom and chicken one time.

This is from his new book, “Bread” by Eric Treuille.

Ingredients

2 tsp dry yeast
1 1/4 cups water
3 3/4 cups bread flour
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 tbs olive oil

for the filling and topping

1 1/2 cups chopped mozzarella
1 1/2 cups chopped smoked mozzarella

1 garlic clove, peeled and chopped

1 handful of fresh basil leaves

3 Tbs olive oil

1 tsp coarse salt

3 sprigs rosemary, stems removed

1 tsp pepper

1. Put 1 cup of water and yeast into a bowl, stir to dissolve with a fork, let sit for 5 minutes

2. Mix the flour and salt together in a large mixing bow, I use my kitchenaid. Push the flour to the sides of the bowl and make a well . Pour the yeast/water mix in the well and add 3Tbs of olive oil. Stir in the extra 1/4 cup of water, at your discretion, to form a soft, sticky dough.

3. You can dump the dough out onto your lightly floured bread board or counter and knead for 10 minutes until it is smooth, silky and elastic. Or do yourself a favor and let the kitchenaid and it’s good buddy the dough hook do the work. πŸ˜‰ If using the mixer usually you cut down the kneading time to about 5 minutes. The dough does have a tendency to climb up the hook so I stop every once in a while and scrape it off. Rubber spatulas work best.

4. Place the dough in a clean(duh), oiled bowl(I use Crisco cooking spray or Pam) and cover with a dish towel. You could clean the kitchen or work on another baking project while you wait. Let it rise for 1 1/2 to 2 hours or until it is doubled in size. We are at an elevation of 2800 feet and it NEVER takes that long to double in size. It is an hour for me.

Still not sure if it is ready? Here is a tip I got from a friend of mine, Jester this goes for any bread rising in general:

, Let it rise just until it’s doubled in bulk. To test it, poke two fingers into it, about up to your first knuckle. When you remove your fingers, if the indentation remains, it’s ready to bake. If it fills back out, let it rise a little longer, then test again.

Punch it down and then chafe it for 5 minutes, then you need to let it rest for 10 minutes. I hit google and if you read #5 that should explain it. It is actually pretty simple. Chafing.

5. Shape the dough into a 14 inch by 8 inch rectangle. Cover dough with a dish towel and let it rest for anther 10 minutes.

6. To make the filling and topping

Spread the garlic, basil leaves, and cheeses evenly over the dough.

Roll it as if you would a swiss roll, starting at one of the sides, but not rolling too tightly.

7. Then place on an oiled baking sheet. Use a carving fork to poke several holes through the dough to the baking sheet. (Try not to scratch your baking sheet though.) Sprinkle the Stromboli with 1 tbs of the olive oil, rosemary leaves, salt and pepper.

8. Now you can bake it in a preheated oven for 1 hour until golden. Cool slightly, then drizzle with the remaining olive oil.

WOW. I finally got it done!

Don’t forget to tightly seal the edges of the ends AND the middle. If you don’t, you will be siting there feeling like an idiot when your awesome cheesey little volcano you made in your very own oven erupts out the side of the mountain instead of at the top.

Have you ever made Stromboli? Would you like to?stromboli3

Entry Filed under: cooking,italian,recipes,stromboli

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:32 am

    […] tortillas and are fried in oil. We try to keep any frying to a minimum around here. When I made the mini stromboli’s a week or two ago and seen how nice and crispy they were, all I could think was, I need to try […]

  • 2. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:01 am

    […] so Thursday the kids wanted pizza and I wanted to try the Stromboli dough out and use that. That recipe calls for bread flour and all I had at the time was all purpose flour […]

  • 3. Stephanie  |  February 4, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    That looks amazing. I’m going to have to try this!! πŸ™‚

  • 4. jasmine  |  February 5, 2008 at 8:07 am

    It is wonderful. My family wants it all the time now! lol I have even made pizza and cheesey bread and chimichangas with this dough.

    Watch those chimichangas get HUGE! lol

    3 3/4 cups of flour will make 1 of the big stromboli’s you see at the top. Double the recipe for two. my mixer will allow just that much flour at one time.

    You can always make both of them up or once you are done chafing and letting it rest, stick it in the fridge for a day or two and pull it out again for another night. That is what I do.

    Let me know if you try it. πŸ™‚

  • 5. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 7, 2008 at 9:35 am

    […] Stromboli & a […]

  • 6. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 20, 2008 at 8:38 am

    […] is a link to the recipe for the strombli. I know what you are thinking, simple? What about all that chafing? […]

  • 7. Ellis  |  June 28, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Jasmine, thank you for posting the recipe! Sorry, I’m a little late responding. heh heh.
    I’ve been slicing the stromboli into lunch-sized chunks and freezing them for the family. It makes me CRAZY when I make two big ones and they get eaten in one night. lol

    xoxo

  • 8. jasmine  |  June 29, 2008 at 7:22 am

    Hi Ellis. Thanx for commenting. Yeah my eldest dd and I make a bunch up at once. Then we split the dough and make mini stromboli’s for lunches. We could eat that every day though. Everyone loves it. lol


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
