Archive for February 4th, 2008




Menu Plan Monday!

Okay so this is my second time participating in Organizing Junkies Menu plan Monday.

So this is what is on the agenda for this week.

Monday: Hamburgers for the kids, Filet Mignon for the adults with Sautee’d Mushrooms and Mashed Potatoes with Salad. I will be making cupcakes too but am going to try a new recipe.

Tuesday: Chicken Veggie Rice Stirfry

Wednesday: Beef, Bean & Cheese Chimichangas with Tomatillo Salsa and Sour cream, maybe some Spanish Rice Here is my old salsa recipe

Thursday: Rosemary Feta Chicken with Olives and Grape tomatoes, vegis on the side

Friday: Mini Stromboli with Salad.

Saturday: We are celebrating ds’s birthday at the park so it will be hot dogs and chips and lots of ice cream and a home made cake. I want to do a 4 layer one. I will post whatever recipe I decide on later.

By the way, I finally got most of my pictures added to the sidebar. You can click and go straight to the recipes. How does that look?  Have a great week ladies!

9 comments February 4, 2008

How to make Microwave Pizza

Okay so Thursday the kids wanted pizza and I wanted to try the Stromboli dough out and use that. That recipe calls for bread flour and all I had at the time was all purpose flour though. I believe I took 2 big doughs and cut them both into 4’s. 2 of those 4’s I doubled up and made cheesey bread.

(more…)

Add a comment February 4, 2008

How to make Tomatillo Chile Salsa

I was in the store the other night and I told my dh I would be quick. lol Wouldn’t you know I seen a couple in the chile section discussing their list and I just had to ask them if they were making salsa? Indeed they were. They were very nice and he was very proud of his salsa. He was making it for the super bowl party and said he even won an award last year at a lake. It was a group of houseboats and they all submitted recipes and his was picked as the best of all of them.

Joe and I really enjoyed this recipe last night on our chimichangas. Some bites were a little hot but the sourcream cooled it off and I can’t wait to try it today with chips. For me I usually like salsa best the day after it is made, after it has had time to chill. There were so many different flavors in this it was wonderful! I like it better than my other salsa.

(more…)

6 comments February 4, 2008

How to make Spanish Rice


Ingredients

1 large onion

1 large green bell pepper

3 cloves garlic

1 lb of white rice

2 cans of tomato sauce(8 oz)

salt to taste

Instructions

Saute chopped onions and chopped bell pepper in light oil. Add rice to it in a large frying pan. Stir in 2 cans of tomato sauce and salt. Fill water to rim of pan. Put lid on and simmer at medium heat for 20 minutes until rice is soft and tasty.

That is my moms spanish rice recipe as she has it written down. I usually use brown rice which is different cause you need to cook it for about 50 minutes and then maybe add more water, maybe not. It is very touchy and sometimes it will turn out perfect for me and sometimes it won’t lol I usually add a bunch of tomato on top the last 20 minutes or so or some broccoli and cauliflour.  But if you are new to this, just stick with the first recipe.  😉 These are some pictures I took recently.

2 comments February 4, 2008

How to make Beef Chimichangas

chimichanga 4

I have actually never made these before. I know traditionally they are made with flour tortillas and are fried in oil. We try to keep any frying to a minimum around here. When I made the mini stromboli’s a week or two ago and seen how nice and crispy they were, all I could think was, I need to try these with beef in them!

(more…)

4 comments February 4, 2008

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category