How to make Beef Chimichangas

February 4, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

chimichanga 4

I have actually never made these before. I know traditionally they are made with flour tortillas and are fried in oil. We try to keep any frying to a minimum around here. When I made the mini stromboli’s a week or two ago and seen how nice and crispy they were, all I could think was, I need to try these with beef in them!

Ingredients

6 cups of beef, shredded

2.25 cups onion, chopped

6 garlic cloves, diced

2 Tbs chile powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cayenne powder

1 4 oz can of chopped green chiles

1/2 – 1 cup of bean juice, or salsa

tortillas

cheese

I went on the search for a baked chimichanga recipe but wound up pulling from those and throwing in alot of my own ideas as well. SO this is what I did:

I tossed two roast in the crock pot Friday. I also tossed in home made Lipton Onion Seasoning Mix. We had some that night and I let this second roast keep cooking til it was very tender and just fell apart. Yesterday morning I put on a big pot of pinto beans.

Get all your prep work done while the beans are cooking. If you are going to make some home made salsa as well, do that now too. Get the seasonings out and the measuring spoons ready.

1. Get a skillet out and pour some oil in, I use EVOO, but any will do. Saute the onions and garlic til tender.

2. Add all the spices to the onions and garlic, add the diced green chiles as well. Stir with a rubber spatula, combine.

mixture

I then added 6 cups of shredded beef and realized I needed a bit more liquid to make this work. So I added 1/2 cup to 1 cup of bean broth to the pan and it was perfect. You could also add salsa instead. Basically you want it to mix well but you don’t want it to liquidy or the sauce will make the dough/tortillas too soggy. Below is how my meat mixture worked and it was perfect.

beef mixture

Now the simplest thing to do is to have your cheese out, cooked pinto beans out, not mashed, and your beef mixture on the table. Grab some tortillas. I don’t know how many this will make exactly since tortillas come in all shapes and sizes and I didn’t use tortillas anyways. I used the equivalent of 4 large stromboli doughs. I was originally going to make 8 out of 1 dough but decided on 6 instead. I did that for 3 doughs and then 1 dough I made them huge, I split the dough into just 4. Do yourself a favor, just grab some tortillas. Or make your own.

Now here is the problem. When you go to roll that dough out, they seem small. But I forget, even though I KNOW, that they will rise in the oven and become HUGE. I greased the cookie sheets with EVOO. My eldest dd helped put the mix in the dough and roll them like you would a burrito as I rolled the dough out with a rolling pin. On the ones she did 6 per dough I had her use 1/3 cup beans, 1/3 cup beef mixture, 1/4 cup cheese.

doughy chimichanga #2

I have a huge baking sheet, well two actually, plus a smaller one. The 4 we made from one dough we doubled all the ingredients on.

I had the other baking sheet lined up with 12 in the pan and I ran out of EVOO. I called to ask dh to pick some up on his way home from work. It isa good thing too. He gets home and he is like, is that enough room for those? They are all touching. So I took 3 out and then had 9 per tray. That actually worked out to be even. 9 in each tray and 4 big ones in the other tray.

I smeared these with alot of EVOO. I should of just drizzled it but I poured way too much so what else could I do? lol

I sprinkled these with a little bit of coarse sea salt and a 17 seasoning blend that has no salt in it and I had some diced olives left in the fridge so I added that too. Next time I think just cut olives will do and to garnish after baking cause they got really dry. We cooked them for 40 minutes total. We rotated the pans after 20 minutes. Only 2 pans would fit in the oven at once and I know the third pan did not take as long but I forget. I keep checking on these every 10 minutes. I had the oven preheated and at 400 degress.

doughy chimichanga

Here they are hot out of the oven! You see how they all poofed up and are all touching each other? Good thing I made it 3 per row instead of 4!

chimichangas

This is the 4 per dough ones we made. HUMONGOUS!!

4 per dough

We topped them with sour cream and salsa. These were SO SOOOO GOOD!!! The cinnamon gives it a slightly sweet smell but doesn’t really taste like cinnamon. I have heard it is supposed to enhance the flavor of the beef. Joey gave it an A plus PLUS! He said he knew there were beans in it but he didn’t notice them(which is good cause he doesn’t like beans if he can notice them. lol) You couldn’t really tell there was cheese except that it was gooey. That is what he said. I am definately making these again!! It was so perfect topped with salsa that was a little hot and then the sour cream kind of cooled it off and all the flavors worked together so perfectly.

chimichanga3

I also cooked up 4.50 lbs of gr. beef yesterday and I have plenty of beans and cheese left so maybe I will make some more with the ground beef. Stick around and I will post my new salsa recipe for you. *edited* Here is the recipe for Tomatillo Chile Salsa

Do you make chimichangas? Or just buy from the store?

Entry Filed under: baking,beef,breads,mexican,recipes

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:27 am

    […] Wednesday: Beef, Bean & Cheese Chimichangas with Salsa and Sour cream, maybe some Spanish Rice […]

  • 2. Samantha  |  February 4, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I have made my “version” of chimi’s. i put whatever filling in we like (usuallly shredded chicken with chilis and salsa and cheese) but i use store bought tortillas. I bake mine also, but i stick a tooth pick in the center of the ones that don’t want to stay closed, spray all sides of the burrito with Pam spray and bake until golden brown. They come out just as good, if not better, than the deep fried ones.

    I have also made taquitos like this also, with the corn tortillas and little bit of filling, rolled up small. Perfect to make up a batch to have on hand in the freezer for a quick snack or lunch. much better than what you find in the grocery store, cheaper too!

  • 3. jasmine  |  February 5, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Thanx for your tips. Yeah I have made the stromboli many times now and it wasn’t much difference when I sprayed it with cooking spray as opposed to the oil. I did really slather the oil on this time and I felt really guilty. haha Even the original recipe says only 1 Tbs per HUGE stromboli. lol

    I will have to try that with the toothpick. I tried doing that before with taquitos but I was trying to put it in sideways and it usually tore. Does one little toothpick keep the whole thing closed? Thanx for stopping in!

  • 4. miguel  |  December 26, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    loved your beef chimichanga thanx


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
