How to make Tomatillo Chile Salsa

February 4, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

I was in the store the other night and I told my dh I would be quick. lol Wouldn’t you know I seen a couple in the chile section discussing their list and I just had to ask them if they were making salsa? Indeed they were. They were very nice and he was very proud of his salsa. He was making it for the super bowl party and said he even won an award last year at a lake. It was a group of houseboats and they all submitted recipes and his was picked as the best of all of them.

Joe and I really enjoyed this recipe last night on our chimichangas. Some bites were a little hot but the sourcream cooled it off and I can’t wait to try it today with chips. For me I usually like salsa best the day after it is made, after it has had time to chill. There were so many different flavors in this it was wonderful! I like it better than my other salsa.

Ingredients:

6 Roma Tomatoes ( I used 2 BIG tomatoes instead)

2 tomatillos

2 jalapeno’s

3 serrano chiles

1/4 cup of yellow bell pepper

1/4 cup of green bell pepper

1/2 cup cilantro

1/2 cup green onions

juice from 1 lemon

1 can diced green chiles, 4 oz

2-3 cans of El Pato jalapeno salsa 7 3/4 oz

garlic to taste

1 large onion

His only instructions were to saute the jalapenos, the serrano, and the garlic. I was distracted making the beef chimichangas as well so I wound up sauteing the onion and garlic and the bell peppers later too since they were frozen. I chopped off a piece of the cilantro and filled the 1/2 cup, then cut it tiny. I cut the green onion a few times then I measured 1/2 a cup, then I cut that tiny too. Basically chop everything up, then add the cans of salsa and chile. My eldest dd was helping ipen the cans and the middle dd came by and spilled 1/2 of 1 can. It was still fine and I think 2 cans would be enough.

The little tomatillos were so cute. They look like a cross between a tomato, a green apple and a kiwi. Make sure you peel the wrapper off these. On the right side of the plate, the one on the bottom still has the skin on. The grocer clerk when he rang these up he thought they were brussel sprouts. lol I had to tell him.

Look at these beautiful tomatoes I got from Costco. $7.00 for 5 lbs.

I gave it the name you see in this post. He just calls it “Salsa”. Thanx houseboat guy for a wonderful salsa recipe! Here is another picture of the salsa. Do you like to make salsa? WHat is your recipe?

Entry Filed under: mexican,recipes,Uncategorized

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dangerouslydeliciousrecip&hellip  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:29 am

    […] Beef, Bean & Cheese Chimichangas with Tomatillo Salsa and Sour cream, maybe some Spanish […]

  • 2. planningqueen  |  February 5, 2008 at 3:51 am

    This sounds so tasty. We have a party to go to in a couple of weeks, I think I will make this and take it along.

  • 3. jasmine  |  February 5, 2008 at 7:30 am

    If you do make it. Let me know how you like it. Don’t forget to let it chill first, then stir it up. I like this better than my old salsa. 🙂

    I had a bag of frozen mixed bell peppers in my freezer. if I had to get 2 fresh bell peppers and only use 1/4 of them I would make spanish rice as well.

  • 4. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 21, 2008 at 9:55 am

    […] shredded chicken, corn tortillas and cheddar cheese. I also made some spanish rice and some salsa […]

  • 5. melissa  |  June 14, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I love chile, but I don’t want it to be too hot. What if I were to omit the 2 jalepenos and use my favorite salsa (Julio’s Mild Salsa). Do you think it will still come out tasty? I love the chile they sell at restaurants like Taco Cabana, Mamacita’s and family owned Mexican restaurants. I hope I finally got a recipe for that kind of stuff. I love it on almost anything. Thanks for the recipe.

  • 6. jasmine  |  June 14, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Hi Melissa,

    This is a wonderful recipe, but I have to admit, to me it doesn’t taste as good as a Mexican Restaurant. I think theirs is saltier and something else, I don’t know quite what. If I did I would make it! LOL

    I just plain like the Restaurant’s better. But still this is very good. Let me know how you like it. As far as not wanting it too hot, you are more than welcome to omit the 2 jalapeno’s and add whatever salsa you like.

    The el pato salsa is more like liquidy green hot sauce.

    Thanx for stopping in.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
