How to make Awesome Banana Nut Bread

February 6, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

I don’t have any pictures of the banana bread handy so this is a picture of some banana muffins. I am sure you all know what bread looks like. 😉 Well over Christmas I went searching for an awesome banana nut bread recipe. I stopped by Epicurious and clicked to see what bread had the best rating that was strictly banana nut bread, not one with streussel topping, not one with macadamian nuts, etc. The first one I came to that was such, I immediately clicked the reviews. There were 219 of them!

It is a good thing I like to actually read the reviews instead of just making sure a recipe has a lot of reviews and alot of stars/forks. I didn’t read all of them, maybe just 4 or 5 pages or so, out of 22. But it turns out about 3/4’s of the page down on page 5, “john from Franklin Ma” posted a great recipe he had and for the next 5 pages just about everyone quit reviewing the original posters banana bread and started reviewing his recipe!

Everyone said it was excellent, the best they ever had, etc. So of course I just had to try it. Now I will let you know this is the first banana bread I have actually ever made so I have nothing to compare it to. My whole family loved it, I have made it now about 3 times. Those other reviewers thought it was really, really great too! SO if you are looking for a banana bread recipe, or just want to try a new one out, I don’t think you can go wrong with this one.

I have tried this with all purpose flour and also with half and half. They were both really good!

Banana Bread Reviews & Recipe

john from Franklin Ma

Let me give you a GOOD recipe for banana bread. I’ve been searching for years for the perfect recipe and I think I have found it at a bed and breakfast in Louisville,Ky. BEST EVER BANANA BREAD 1 cup sugar 1/2 cup butter 3 very ripe bananas 2 eggs 1 1/4 cups flour 1/2 tsp salt 1 tsp baking soda 1 cup crushed walnuts Preheat oven to 350 degrees,Cream sugar and butter. Add bananas and eggs beaten. Sift flour,salt and baking soda 3 times. Blend and add to banana mixture. Pour patter into a 9×5 loaf pan. Bake for 55 min. Cool on rack. If this is not the tastiest and moistest bread you’ve ever eaten, I will eat your peels.

Entry Filed under: baking,breads,desserts

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JennDZ_The LeftoverQueen  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I love how you made them into muffins!

  • 2. dhivya  |  February 6, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    First time in ur here..u hav a nice blog.This looks yummy and delicious

  • 3. jasmine  |  February 6, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Yeah I call them Monster Muffins!!

    Thanx Dhiyva. Yeah all the pictures in the sidebar click to recipes. Well except the manicotti one. I still need to get that blog up.

    Thanx for stopping in ladies!

  • 4. John  |  May 1, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    WHOA!!!! Hold on there! Thanx for stopping in ladies? I am a man who dearly loves to cook and am looking for the best ever banana nut bread, so was checking out your site. Just had to give you crap about this ladies stuff!!!
    🙂 Think I will try your banana bread tonight. Thanks for the recipe!
    Male John 🙂

  • 5. jasmine  |  May 1, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Hi John,

    Well I think you are the first male to respond to the blog. LOL

    I hope you enjoy the recipe. If you have time stop in later and let us know how you liked it.

    Thanks ladies and gentleman! 😉

    ~Jasmine

  • 6. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  June 30, 2008 at 8:55 am

    […] to the neighbors and the squirrels getting into the doggy door in our tent it is all gone! Click here for the […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
