How to Make Magnolia’s Chocolate Cupcakes

February 8, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

Okay so I have made Magnolia’s Vanilla cupcakes before like 3 times and raved about them here and here. They are REALLY good! The other day was my ds’s birthday so I wanted to make him some cupcakes. I wanted to try a new recipe though too. Fortunately for us we had all the ingredients on hand. I did add a tsp of cinnamon to the cupcake batter though.

sat

Next Saturday we are planning a party for him at Chuck E Cheese so this was just to tide him over. The recipe calls for a double boiler which I don’t have so I just tossed the chocolate chunks in a pan. Bad idea. They burnt a little and I think that contributed to the cupcakes smelling burnt as well.

I wasn’t too impressed. I don’t know if it was the recipe, or if it was the fact of the slightly burnt chocolate. They were “okay” good. As in hey they are cupcakes and they are not burnt, they are edible! lol But not moist or tender like a cupcake should be.

chocolate mix

There were a bunch of cupcake recipes that I had wanted to try from a blog called the cupcake hero. Basically every month there is a cupcake contest featuring a certain ingredient as a theme. I guess last month was coffee. I even got some instant coffee but was dismayed to see almost every recipe called for espresso powder, which I don’t have, or liquor which I don’t use. I need to get some espresso powder and try some out.

chocolate cupcake

This next week I should be getting my Baking WIth Dorie dessert cookbook so I will try to make him something really awesome next Saturday. The kids didn’t complain about the cupcakes at least. Do they ever? lol But they weren’t oohing and aahing either. If you make these cupcakes, or ever have and they turn out different for you, let me know. lol


Magnolia’s Chocolate Cupcakes

Made from the same batter as our popular Chocolate Buttermilk Cake, this not too rich and not too chocolatey cupcake goes equally well with the vanilla or chocolate buttercream icing.

Makes about 2 dozen cupcakes (depending on the size of your cupcake papers and muffin tins)

*

CUPCAKES:
*

2 cups all-purpose flour
*

1 teaspoon baking soda
*

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
*

1 cup granulated sugar
*

1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
*

4 large eggs, at room temperature
*

6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted (see Note)
*

1 cup buttermilk
*

1 teaspoon vanilla extract
*

ICINGS:
*

Vanilla Buttercream (recipe follows) or Chocolate Buttercream

Note: To melt the chocolate, place in a double boiler over simmering water on low heat for approximately 5–10 minutes. Stir occasionally until completely smooth and no pieces of chocolate remain. Remove from the heat and let cool to lukewarm 5–10 minutes.

1.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2.

Line two 12-cup muffin tins with cupcake papers. Set aside.
3.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour and baking soda. Set aside.
4.

In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the chocolate, mixing until well incorporated. Add the dry ingredients in three parts, alternating with the buttermilk and vanilla. With each addition, beat until the ingredients are incorporated, but do not overbeat. Using a rubber spatula, scrape down the batter in the bowl to make sure the ingredients are well blended and the batter is smooth. Carefully spoon the batter into the cupcake liners, filling them about three-quarters full. Bake for 20–25 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in the center of the cupcake comes out clean.
5.

Cool the cupcakes in the tins for 15 minutes. Remove from the tins and cool completely on a wire rack before icing. At the bakery we ice the cupcakes with either Vanilla Buttercream or Chocolate Buttercream.

Note: If you would like to make a layer cake instead of cupcakes, divide the batter between two 9-inch round cake pans and bake the layers for 30–40 minutes.

Entry Filed under: baking,cupcakes,desserts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judy  |  February 9, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Yummm…I think even burnt cupcakes are good! How can they not be? I think for Valentines Day I am going to make my DD’s some vanilla ones colored red using beets! Should I try the Magnolia recipe?

  • 2. jasmine  |  February 9, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Hi Judy! Yeah use the Magnolia Vanilla Recipe. That one is really good. But I caution don’t do any baking before. The one time I did that for some reason everything got all messed up and they weren’t as awesome as usual. lol

    For the icing coloring I went to Michael’s crafts and got a huge box of icing coloring. It was like $12.00 or so but I was able to use a 40% off coupon. A little really goes along way. Using gel colors specifically for icing doesn’t compromise the integrity of the frosting.

    If you are talking about the actual cupcake I am sure they have coloring kits for that. I have never tried beets.

    Let me know how it turns out. Don’t forget to take pictures! 🙂

    When I make the cupcakes I use real AA butter, I get it for $1.65 a lb at Costco. They are soooo good! If you use margarine I am not sure how that turns out, but would probably be fine as well.

    ~Jasmine

  • 3. Judy  |  February 10, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Thanks for the advice! I can’t use real dye’s though. My youngest one has a sensitivity to red dye and you do not want to b around her when she has had it!!! Gotta love Costco…we use the butter too!

  • 4. jasmine  |  February 10, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Well you will have to let me know how this beet works. I have wanted to make red velvet cake but was concerned with using the food coloring.

  • 5. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 20, 2008 at 7:33 am

    […] texas sheet cake recipe for the cake part and used a butter/confectioners sugar recipe similiar to this for the frosting. I added pink and blue icing coloring for the icing and added some cocoa for the […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
