How to save money when buying Choice Beef

February 12, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

So last week we talked about getting better quality meat at Costco. I did check and yes indeed their beef is USDA Choice, not Select. Select is what most stores sale. Choice is a step up and is better quality. I went last Friday and decided to write down some prices. I was in a hurry and my pen wasn’t working too well but I think I did pretty well. It turns out it would be very economical to buy beef by the case there.

New York Strip Whole: $5.59 a lb, or $5.31 a lb by the case (save .28 cents a lb!)

New York Boneless Steak: $7.99 a lb, or $5.31 a lb by the case (save $2.68 cents a lb!)

Beef Ribeye Boneless Steak: $6.99 a lb, or $4.99 a lb by the case (save $2.00 cents a lb!)

Beef Chuck roast Boneless: $2.19 a lb

Pot roast $3.39 a lb

Beef Loin Top Sirloin Steak: $4.99 a lb, or $2.68 a lb by the case (save $2.31 cents a lb!)

Beef Stew: $3.49 a lb, or $2.31 a lb by the case (save $1.18 cents a lb!)

Beef Loin Tri Tip Roast: $4.99 a lb, or $3.38 a lb by the case (save $1.61 cents a lb!)

Round Tip Roast: $3.59 a lb

Beef Round Sirloin Tip Steak: $3.59 a lb or $2.22 a lb by the case (save $1.37 cents a lb!)

T Bone Steak: $5.99 a lb, or $4.08 a lb by the case (save $1.91 cents a lb!)

Flapmeat: $4.99 a lb, or $2.90 a lb by the case (save $2.09 cents a lb!)

Hamburger Meat 12% fat: $2.59 a lb

Last week I also got a great sale on pork chops. They are normally $2.79 a lb and I found a 5.08 lb pack that was priced at $14.17. For 5 days they have a sale where you get $5.00 off per pack! So it was only $9.17! I picked up two packs.

I could not believe how cheap it was a lb to buy by the case! I need to call them and ask how many packs are in a case though. This would be a great deal if you had a friend, or a few friends even that you could go in on this with. We have a deep freezer and I was telling Joe maybe each month we should take and buy 1 case of something and freeze it. Eventually we would have a bunch of meat in there.

Entry Filed under: Kitchen tip Tuesday

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessie's Attic  |  February 12, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Those are great deals. And the stockpiling is a good idea too! I need to keep my eyes pealed for sales. 🙂

  • 2. The Happy Housewife  |  February 12, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Interesting, I don’t have a Costco membership but those prices sound good. Thanks for the tip.
    Blessings

  • 3. mom2fur  |  February 12, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I’m almost afraid to ask…what is flap meat?

  • 4. Judy  |  February 12, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I hadn’t thought about them even selling it by the case. Maybe that is just where you are? I would love to do that though. I may have to check with them her about it!

  • 5. Gretchen Noelle  |  February 12, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    I used to *love* costco and sams ans really miss shopping there! We just don;t have anything like it here. Thanks so much for leaving a comment on my blog, I am glad to stumble upon yours. Blessings!

  • 6. jasmine  |  February 12, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Jess,

    I have heard from other people the best time to get there is early in the a.m., when they are clearing out their meats. That is with other stores. I need to find out if my stores here do that.

    The Happy Housewife,

    Y/w. The $50.00 membership pays for itself quickly.

    mom2fur

    I call it meat for carne asada. This website explains it better though. lol

    Butchers’ best-kept secret

    Judy

    Yeah I would of never thought about it either but those prices were listed right up on top. Talk to your Costco and see. 🙂

    Gretchen Noelle

    Y/w and I am glad to find yours too. That is really neat about your trip to Peru. I guess you have to sacrifice great deals on meat at Costco for the sake of adventure. 😉

    Thanx ladies for stopping by! Have a great week!

  • 7. mom2fur  |  February 13, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Okay, now I get what flap meat is, although I’ve never seen it. Around here, we’re big fans of skirt steak. The site says they are similar.

  • 8. Christine  |  February 13, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    For years I would never buy meat from BJs or Costcos but some people my sister knows say it’s fresh meat at a great price. My mother the other day got Salmon 2 large ones for around 13.00 and you can’t even get half of one in the fish market at that price. So we cooked it and it was wonderful and very fresh.

    So I am going to start buying my meat in bulk there when I do my plan ahead meals. Especially the fish what deal that was.

    God Bless
    Christine

  • 9. jasmine  |  February 16, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Yeah I think they are similiar mom2fur. I was going to tease you and say it was from the flap of the foot or something. lol

    Christine,

    Yeah their meat is really good. We have gotten frozen salmon there before and I was amazed at the price. We always insist on wild alaskan salmon and their price was really great. I don’t remember how much though. During the week for lunch a few times I like to eat their canned salmon.

  • 10. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  February 17, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    […] it is simple. The simplest way to do it is to pick up some hamburger meat from the store, grab some flour tortillas, some shredded cheese, sour cream, and a bottle of your […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts

 
