Window Shopping for houses

March 19, 2008 Jasmine

Well it looks like the housing market is falling. HARD. From what I hear 2 years will be the best time to buy. By then the prices will have hit bottom. Then it will be time to buy. So I am starting my research now. There are already houses in my immediate area as in just a block or two away that are in our payment range. By the time 2 years is up houses in even better areas will be more affordable as well.

By then it will be a matter of God helping, being credit worthy and having a down payment. So for now I am going to do as much research as possible. I am also going to be looking at the neighborhoods. I would rather get a smaller home in a better neighborhood than a bigger home in a lesser neighborhood.

Out here it seems to be hit and miss. Sometimes you have areas where half the people take care of their homes/yards, and half don’t. In that respect sometimes it is better to go with a well established neighborhood cause then you have an idea of what to expect. Up here that is pretty hard as they are building like crazy and have for quite some time.

So brand new homes are going up overnight and what kind of guarantee will you have that the people they move in will care about their area. So at this point I am not really looking at price. Prices are subject to change and especially now they are subject to go down. ALOT! So what I am going to do is get alot more familiar with the little areas around these few city’s up here. We are also going to look at some model homes. Because todays model homes are tomorrow’s used homes and tomorrow the prices just may go down enough to be affordable.

Any great advice or experience let me know!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  April 2, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I’m a house watcher. I love spending time on realtor.com. I think we are about bottomed out (not the whole state, just my little town) where I am but I am in a area that did not go up that much to begin with. Not long ago we had a lot of homes for sale and now in my neighborhood there are only a few. I am in a newer subdivision and we did have quite a few forclosures last year. Good luck with your future plans.

  • 2. jasmine  |  April 3, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Hi Maggie!

    Thanks for stopping by. Yeah it is interesting seeing all the different houses and the prices. Some prices are so low and the houses are so nice I am about ready to fall out of my seat! LOL

    Unfortunately up here some of these areas are going up so quickly and you get a wide mix of people in. Some honest hard working people and others not so honest or hard working, if you know what I mean. LOL

    SO then you are winding up with neighborhoods where half looks nice and kept up, the other half looks terrible. On my immediate block there are about 10 houses. Joe takes care of our yard, most people on the block do too except about 2 – 3 toward the end. 4 people right here even pay professional lawn service.

    All in all not a bad block. One of the unkempt lawns is a vacancy and there is another vacancy but they keep it up.

    It is a nice little block. But then you turn the corner and there are like 3 houses with bars on their windows, and a whole line of weeds/tall grass, probably vacancies too.

    It brings the whole area down. Then you go down another block and most the houses are nice again. LOL

    So hopefully we can find a nicer area cause it doesn’t matter how brand new your house is if you are getting lots of people who don’t care about their homes and questionable characters.

    I am glad you are happy with your home! Thanks for the well wishes!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
