Devil’s Food White Out Layer Cake

April 20, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

pic

This is my picture of Dorie Greenspan’s cake. She also chose to use this cake for the cover of her book, Baking, From My Home to Yours.

This was the book I picked out and Joey got me for Valentines day. I was so excited waiting for it and was going to make it for us on V~ day and I was so disappointed that I did not get it in time that I haven’t made anything from the book, let alone that cake. The rolling pin I ordered, which originally was going to take an extra few weeks, got there BEFORE the book!

pic2

The cake just looks so awesome I decided to get over my irritation and make it. I bought all the ingredients but I should of read it over a few times before starting it. I started this cake at 12:17 p.m. yesterday and by 2:17 it still wasn’t done!

pic3

Of course I had my 5 kids plus one of Chris’ friends in and out not to mention my dh was attempting to paint my kitchen. Kass came into to roll out pizza dough and wanted to know this and that. I stopped to warm up a burger from the fridge…

pic4

If I had bothered to first read it I would of realized I needed a candy thermometer. I don’t have one. So when it got to the icing part I just had to wing it. The mini chocolate chips, I had to scan over it like 5 times before I could find WHEN to put them in.

pic6

I goofed big time on the icing. Like I said I had to wing it without the candy thermometer but in addition Joey;s paint roller broke so we needed to run out and get another one and some pepperoni for the pizza. By then I was done with the icing and the cakes were cooling. I kind of wondered if the icing would be okay, if we should fridge it, ice it real quick? Joey said no we needed to let the cakes cool longer and it would be fine.

pic8

Nope!

We got back and as to be expected, it fell.

I am going to have to get a candy thermometer and try this at least once more before I give up entirely. The cake actually tasted great. If you try the icing alone it taste a bit bitter. It is perfect with the cake though. The only problem was the icing squished out between the layers and was runny. I know, my fault, my fault! We shouldn’t of let it sit either. By the time we got back I had already spent 2 hours hassling with the cake and the frosting so Joey said he would put it together for me. What a sweetie!

Here is a link to a blog called Baking Bites if you would like the recipe.

All in all I will definately try it again. The first time I tried the texas sheet cake I made it as rounds and it turned out awful looking, but great tasting. The second time I made it in the sheet pan and it was awesome, and has been every time since then. Joey said maybe next time we should keep the cake recipe, but try a whip cream frosting. I LOVE whip cream frosting, never made one though.

Have you ever made a multilayer cake before? How did it turn out?

Entry Filed under: baking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirstin  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    either way, it has two of my favorite things, devils food and white frosting!!

  • 2. jasmine  |  April 23, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Hi Kirstin,

    This cake is yummy. Maybe next time I can get the frosting down! lol


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
