Why is my husband so skinny?

April 20, 2008 Jasmine

food

Yeah I know, it is simple math. Calories in, calories out. But he is amazing! He is 5’11 or so and is 150 pounds soaking wet. That man can put away food like no tomorrow. Sometimes when people meet him for the first time they say, “Man, you need to eat!!”

That last happened just Friday. The pictures on this blog were taken from two separate occasions.

food 3
I know you can’t see his face yet but take my word for it that is him in the white shirt. 😉

Over the holidays we seen distant family and when I talked on the phone to one of them recently they were concerned with if he was sick or not. I had to assure them that no, he is not sick. I almost feel a little guilty like they are implying I don’t cook for him. LOL He has actually worked two very physical jobs since he came out here and he is actually looking thicker around the middle and has gained muscle in his arms and what not.

Anyone who knows me knows that I cook all the time, the most wonderful food and mostly from scratch. He has that skinny guy syndrome down pat, he works very hard, eats when he is hungry, doesn’t eat when he is not hungry. (What a novel concept) He is also almost always moving. I have seen studies where they take two kids, one heavy, one skinny and they are both watching tv. Guess what? The heavy kid just sits there and watches tv, the skinny kid is moving around, fidgety.

food 2

He loves to bbq. Good thing cause I LOVE to eat it. LOL My absolute most favorite buns in the whole world are onion buns or potato buns. Big thick 200 calorie ones. I use 4% fat hamburger patty’s for mine with a slice of cheese and some mustard. He uses 27% fat, two patty’s at once with like 6 slices of cheese, smeared with mayonaisse. Then he makes up a second one. These patty’s I get him are 1/3 rd pounders! 1/3 x 4 patty’s = 1 1/3 rd pound! Toss in some jojo potatoes on the side with a pile of ketchup.

I think he ate more in one sitting that night than I am allowed to eat in a whole day. 😆

food4

You see how he is holding 1 burger with his hands and the other is still on his plate. Here is a picture of him. I know, the lighting was bad.

food5

My eldest son is the same way. Very skinny, very much a busy body. He doesn’t eat quite as much though. Do you know anyone who is like this?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirstin  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Gee, I wish I had his problem…those burgers look to die for! But alas, I don’t. I’d love to be 150lbs. Maybe I could swap with him. My 193 might look better on him…or at least just a bit of it…

  • 2. Zsuzsanna  |  April 21, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Haha, that’s just like my husband! He used to be 135 – 145 for most of the time that we have been married. He has recently gained some lbs and is about 170, although he looks the same to me, only his shoulder and arm muscles are much bigger. His job is pretty physical, so that’s where a lot of the calories go. I think drinking fresh juice every day (fruit, not vegetable) has also helped him gain some weight. He goes to Jamba Juice a lot.

    But it also runs in his family. Both his sisters can eat a ton and are very slender.

  • 3. jasmine  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Kirstin,

    I wish I could swap with him too! LOL Back years before he met me when he was still boxing, he did every thing he could to gain weight and wound up falling short of getting into middle weights. I think the heaviest he got was 170 and he needed like a few more pounds. LOL

    Zsuzsanna

    It is so good to see you!! *hugz* What are we going to do with these two? Tie them down and force feed them the fattiest foods ever and they still wouldn’t gain an ounce! HAHA

    You know what we got a juicer around christmas time and he has used it once. I told him before we got it maybe we shouldn’t. (Cause I wasn’t sure if we would use it) but of course what did I get for a birthday present? LOL

    Maybe I should dig it out dust it off and put it to use! I remember getting oranges cheap at the farmers market last year but was so disappointed cause most of them were old and dried out.

    His sisters must be very active too.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
