Enchiladas & Spanish Rice

April 21, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , , ,

cc

*edited to add Let me preface this by saying this is my husbands plate and not mine. Mine you probably wouldn’t of been able to see any cheese on it cause I ration my enchilada very carefully. Someone has to count the calories in this house! I measure out a smidge of sour cream too.

If you haven’t noticed I adore just about anything with cheese. I also love Mexican food. Tacos & enchiladas are my favorite. Tamales are too but whenever I go to a Mexican rest. I always order a shredded beef taco and a beef enchilada.

I was updating my blog’s sidebar yesterday and putting in more pics and going over stuff and by golly I inspired myself! LOL I was putting up a picture of my home made enchilada sauce and I said, “That looks good!”

dd

I had leftover shredded chicken, corn tortillas and cheddar cheese. I also made some spanish rice and some salsa up.

What kind of enchiladas do you like to make? Do you make your own home made sauce?

Entry Filed under: enchiladas,mexican,spanish rice

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  April 21, 2008 at 10:03 am

    […] Sunday: Enchiladas & Spanish Rice […]

  • 2. Maggie  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:38 am

    I have made my own sauce before but i don’t do it very often. I used to have a great green enchilada recipe that had a lot of steps but I lost it, it was so good.I love cheese!

  • 3. Alex  |  April 22, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    They look DIVINE! I can’t wait to be able to stand for longer than 5 minutes so I can cook again!!! Keep inspiring me though.

  • 4. jasmine  |  April 22, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I love cheese too! This one is a very good recipe(just click the home made sauce link). Someone from a recipe site got it from their grandmother in law. It is originally from Mexico. Last time we went to La Casita I was telling my dh this sauce tasted similiar to the sauce they use on their enchiladas. Ole! Here is a picture of their food.

    ll

  • 5. jasmine  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Alex,

    Thank you. These enchiladas are great!

  • 6. pritecuzimnise  |  September 3, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I make a similar homemade sauce, its a family recipe. I add ground cumin and instead of water I use chicken or beef broth depending on which im using to fill the enchliadas (I use chix broth if making cheese ones). I also use mexican chocolate (the kind used to make hot chocolate) instead of plain cocoa powder. Your recipe looks great! Keep it up.

  • 7. jasmine  |  September 6, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Thank you. You know what if I have chicken water or pork water I use that too.

    Recently I have been making tamales and they are wonderful!

    Thanx for stopping in.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
