Frugal Friday: Frugal Fun!

April 25, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

dd

WOW! I actually thought of something frugal to share with everyone today. I have always loved popcorn! What I hate as I have become more health conscious is all the stuff they put into microwave popcorn bags. Yes there is still air popping but I don’t have one of those. So this is what I do. I buy about 100 brown bags from the local Walmart or Target, then I buy a big bag of popcorn kernels from the store. We use a stapler to close the bag up.

I have never actually personally done this myself. My kids always throw it in the microwave for me. Isn’t that funny? I will go in and spend hours preparing meals from scratch, baking, doing OAMC but I won’t go in and do this? lol I think the one time I did I burnt it!

Anyhow my 9 y/o just told me she puts it in for 2 minutes and 35 seconds. After this is done I have another trick for you. If you are a fan of real butter which I am, take some butter and melt it in the microwave and pour it over your popcorn. Use a knife to stir it up. Real butter is so awesome because it does NOT make the popcorn soggy! Unlike all those other fake butters.

Have fun popping! What frugal ideas do you have to share? For more tips head on over to Biblical Womanhood

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirstin  |  April 25, 2008 at 6:53 am

    so how much popcorn goes in each bag?

  • 2. Jenelle  |  April 25, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    You can’t put staples in the microwave, can you? Aren’t they metal??

  • 3. jasmine  |  April 27, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Hi Kirstin,

    I will have to ask the kids today. 🙂

    Jenelle,

    Good point. ABout 15 years ago I blew up a microwave cause I put tin foil in it. Well actually it was a neighbor asking if she could heat something up.

    We have never had a problem with the staples. if you are worried what I would do is this: fold the bag at the top, like you were going to make a staple. But instead tear it in two places and then fold over so it makes like a flap and stays together.

    Thanx for stopping by!

  • 4. Zsuzsanna  |  April 27, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Here is another tip to avoid the staple: fold the bag over, punch two holes, and thread a toothpick through.

    By the way, Orville Reddenbacher (sp?) has a new, all natural popcorn that does not contain any of the typical unhealthy ingredients, just oil. It comes in 4 flavors, but I only ever see 2 at our store – salt & pepper and salt & garlic. They taste o.k. but I would like to try the just salty kind.

    I have found several air poppers at the thrift store for $1-2, if price is a factor. But of course then you also have to store the thing and dig it out of the cupboard if you actually want to use it. Definitely more trouble than the microwave. But it’s cheaper, and you can make huge amounts in no time.

  • 5. jasmine  |  April 28, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Zsuzsanna,

    Thank you for adding that. It is a great idea!! I probably should look for an air popper too. I don’t frequent thrift stores though. I probably hit one up once every 4-5 months or so.

  • 6. Lyn  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I’m a fan of the new Orville Redenbacher’s simply salted too. I think I will try this version though since our popper recently went to its final resting place. I don’t want to ruin a good pan for popcorn. Thank you!

  • 7. jasmine  |  May 2, 2008 at 6:22 am

    Hy Lyn,

    I haven’t tried that. I know for a while I was getting I think it was pop secret, it had real butter and palm kernel oil but it still had thbq in it. (Something like that.)

    Thanx for stopping in.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
