What is the deal with the flour??

May 4, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

Okay so I cook and bake alot from scratch. I do have a grain mill and organic ww berries but I have been very bad the past few months and been using store bought bread flour and all purpose flour.

Anyways… I can get a 25 lb bag of bread flour from Costco for $8.89. Pretty good. I forget what the price for a 25 lb bag of all purpose (ap) is there.

A few months ago there was no price on the shelf and two 10 lb bags of gold medal ap flour wrapped together in plastic at Smart N Final. I asked the bag boy if he could check the price for me. He came back and said it was $4.00 so I asked him to get me another set.

So I bought 40 lbs of flour for $8.00!!!

Now I think maybe he goofed up and they came wrapped like that for shipping.

I have looked and they don’t even sell it in 10 lb bags anymore, not Gold Medal.

The last two times I have gone, they have their generic brand.

Okay so a few weeks ago I went and it said a 10 lb bag was $3.49, but $3.00 with your card. So I bought I think 2.

I go yesterday and it said the same deal. So I got the one left on the shelf and seen two more wrapped together at the top and asked the bag boy to get them down for me. That was all I seen and I figured 30 lbs would be good for now.

At $3.00 each x 10 lbs that would be $9.00 for 30 lbs of ap flour. (The 25 lb bag of bread flour at Costco is $8.89, so even cheaper than that PLUS in separate bags. I don’t use those two flours interchangeabley though but i am just saying for reference since I don’t remember the price for the ap. )

I get to the register and 99.9% of the time I watch my receipt and the ring up sales like a hawk. I was doing so. It rings up $4.99 for each! Even with my club card and that shouldn’t matter because the higher price was supposed to be $3.49, not $4.99!

The lady sends someone to go check and I am right and she says that was from an old special but gives it to me for $3.00 each anyways.

This is what annoys me:

1. I always have to watch my receipts like a hawk because every time I turn around I am being mischarged, double charged at places!

2. Why are prices for everything going up so quickly?

$3.49 for a 10 lb bag of flour a week ago and now it is $4.99?

I could go on and on about everything else too! One week Costco 5 qt’s of oil was $7.19 and the next week the cheapest was $8.99!!!

Entry Filed under: baking,household

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nichole (Heart4MyHome)  |  May 5, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I know what you mean about the price if things going so high so quickly. It gets old real fast.

  • 2. jasmine  |  May 6, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Hi Nichole,

    Yeah everything is like that it seems. I seen the price of shredded cheddar cheese go up (5 lb bag) like $2.00 in 6 months at Costco. It is time to stock up if we can.

    Thanx for stopping in,

    Jasmine

  • 3. Nic  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Prices are going up here, as well. I think it has something to do with shortages of food in the third world countries.

  • 4. jasmine  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Yeah it is getting rediculous. Even 25 lb bags of beans have gone up. I used to get it on “sale” for $9.00 now it is $12.00.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
