How to make a gourmet cake…

May 5, 2008 Jasmine

Chocolate Cake

…Okay so someone else’s version of gourmet may be different. I looked it up online in the dictionary and this is what I get:

gourmet~ of or characteristic of a gourmet, esp. in involving or purporting to involve high-quality or exotic ingredients and skilled preparation: gourmet meals; gourmet cooking.

Well I do use high quality ingredients, we are currently working on the skill level though. Hey it’s my cake and it is a gourmet cake if I say it is, mmmkay? LOL

I adapted this recipe from:

Dark Chocolate Cake

Ingredients
# 2 cups sugar
# 1 3/4 cups flour
# 3/4 cup baking cocoa (dutch process or dark cocoa preferably)
# 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
# 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
# 1 teaspoon salt
# 2 egg
# 1 cup milk
# 1/2 cup vegetable oil
# 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
# 3/4-1 cup boiling water (see note below) (I used hot coffee)

Directions

1.Heat oven to 350°F.
2.Grease and flour two 9 inch round baking pans or one 13×9 inch pan.
3. In large mixer bowl, stir together dry ingredients.
4. Add eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.
5. Stir in boiling water by hand (batter will be thin). NOTE: I have tried it with 1/2 cup, 2/3 cup and 3/4 cup boiling water and we prefer it with less than 1 cup water. I usually use between 2/3 & 3/4 cups. (I used 3/4 cup oh hot coffee) The cake is still very moist but it doesn’t seem to “fall” as much as it cools. This might have to do with our high humidity or brand of flour or other factors so I don’t know if it will work for everyone.
6. Pour into prepared pan.
7. Bake 30 to 35 minutes for round 9-inch pans, 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. (Do not use 8-inch pans or the batter will overflow.) (I have no clue if my round pans are 8 or 9 inch pans)

8.Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan to wire racks.

Okay so it has been several weeks since I made this so my memory is a bit blurry. A chunk of the cake did break off when I took it out of the pan.

I do remember I used kittencal’s recipe for chocolate icing:

Kittencal’s Chocolate Butter cream frosting

A wonderful frosting I have used for years made in very little time with perfect results and 100% better than any canned — choose the amount of cocoa powder you desire for either a light, medium or dark frosting — this frosting freezes very well so double the recipe and freeze one batch for next time — NOTE for an ultra creamy fluffy milk chocolate frosting add in 1 to 1-1/2 cups thawed Cool Whip topping at the end of mixing the frosting and beat on low speed until blended ——

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter<!–butter–><!––>, softened (you can use margarine but the flavor will not be the same)

 

  • 2 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar<!–confectioners’ sugar–><!––>
  • 1/3 cup half-and-half cream<!–half-and-half cream–><!––> or milk<!–milk–><!––> (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla<!–vanilla–><!––>
  • CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING

    • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for light)
    • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for medium)
    • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted (for dark rich)

    Directions

     

    1. Cream the butter in a small bowl.
    2. Blend in the cocoa powder (the amount desired for a light, medium or dark flavor), vanilla, confectioners sugar, alternately with the cream.
    3. Beat with an electric mixer, until the desired texture is achieved.
    4. **NOTE** because of the additional cocoa powder more cream may have to be added in to reach desired consistency.

    This was awesome, the recipe made enough to cover two round one layer cakes plus extra for decorating. I Wound up needing a bit more for full decorations though. I had some frosting in the fridge from cupcakes from a few days earlier so I took that out and mixed that with the rest of this frosting, then I added more cocoa which is why, if you can see, the decorations are a bit darker than the icing on the cake.

    I admit I tried icing the cake, but these were my best efforts. I had a special tool for cakes to make cute little lines but I actually wanted just a straight, neat look. But when I tried to scrape it neat I wound up scraping off too much frosting and you could see the cake part of it.

    My creation

    Joe’s Creation.

    Well in Job corp Joe attended culinary arts and learned a thing or two so he stepped in and helped. Yeah! He also did the cute little piping job on the top of the cake and I added the cherries. I think it came out looking pretty nice. It tasted GREAT!

    Without cherries

    On the glass table

    I could hardly wait to finish decorating so we could take pictures and eat it!

    The one complaint I had was that when we went to cut it, it sunk in a little. We waited to let it cool til we frosted it. Maybe I should of let it sit longer. We did put it in the fridge and had no trouble the next day cutting into it.

    See how it fell a bit?

    There were 16 pieces this size

    We ate it the next day from the fridge and it still tasted great. Have you ever made a gourmet cake before?

    Entry Filed under: baking,cakes

    2 Comments Add your own

    • 1. Nic  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:52 pm

      Nice! I actually baked a chocolate cake myself last week. I got the recipe from allrecipes.com. I’ll post it on my blog soon.

    • 2. jasmine  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:19 am

      I cant wait to see the recipe. Hope you took pics!


    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

    Pages

    Categories

    Calendar

    May 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

    Most Recent Posts

     
