How to make a Marlboro Man Sandwich…

May 5, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , ,

…from scratch. Well I have been wanting to try this recipe for quite a while and finally dragged the cubed steak out of the freezer to do so. This a recipe I got from the Pioneer Woman’s website. She calls it: Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich.

No matter which way I turn this picture it always looks upside down. LOL Okay so I actually tried two different recipes at once and amazingly enough I even somehow managed to get the steak done cooking, the rice done cooking and the buns done baking and on the table all at the same time! Well my hubby did think we should let the buns cool for a good 20 minutes but who wants to wait when there is yummy hot food right in front of you!

Yes you heard that right. I baked the hoagie rolls. I decided to try a new hamburger bun recipe I found on a friends blog, Jesticalynn, called Homemadewithlove.

You see those two big bun looking things on the upper left corner of the pan? We used those for hoagie rolls. Don’t laugh!!!  By the way, the pan isn’t burnt, that is actually meringue powder mixed with water to become allegedly an egg white and it spilled over the top of the bun onto the pan.

HAHA Okay, you can laugh now. It IS funny.She got the recipe from a board we visit. The recipe is from a lady named BVZ. Click here for the link to the thread. Thanks ladies!

To keep this simple I think I will make the hamburger bun recipe a separate thread.

Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich
2 to 3 pounds cube steak (tenderized round steak that’s been extra-tenderized
1 large onion OR 2 small/medium onions
4 French/Deli rolls
Butter, man
Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
Worcestershire Sauce
Tabasco

-Slice onions and cook in 1/4 stick butter until soft and light brown. Remove and set aside.
-Slice cube steak against the grain. Season with Lawry’s.
-Heat 2 TBSP butter over high heat (in same skillet) until melted and beginning to brown.
-Add meat in single layer. Cook one side until brown, then flip and cook until brown, about a minute on both sides.
-Add 1/2 (at least) Worcestershire sauce, 5 to 6 shakes Tabasco, and 2 TBSP butter. Add cooked onions. Stir to combine.
-Butter halved French rolls and brown on skillet.
-To assemble, lay bottom half of French roll on plate. Place meat mixture, followed by a spoonfull of juice from the pan. Top with other half of roll, cut in half, and devour!

And go get on the Stairmaster. Now.

The butter and the onion sauteing.

I don’t remember what this one was but it was taken right after that one but before this next one so it must belong. LOL You know I just remembered, that is the spanish rice!

The cubed steak in strips in the butter.

After I added worcestershire sauce and tabasco to it. Well I have to say everything about this recipe was delicious!! Joe and I loved it. We didn’t know if the kids would like the cubed steak or not, okay I admit, we wanted it all to ourselves! lol So Joe made them up some burgers for theirs.

Wouldn’t you know I was actually out of an ingredient? Seasoned salt! I decided to look online and find a home made version and actually attempted it til I realized I was missing 1-2 ingredients. I sent my eldest son out to two different neighbors. NOBODY had any!!

So yes we also wound up making the seasoning salt from scratch as well! LOL I think that was one of the first things I picked up at the store when we went back. haha

Entry Filed under: beef

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirstin  |  May 5, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    mmmmmm….those look yummy! I love Rees site. I wish one of these days I’d actually win something she gives away.

  • 2. jasmine  |  May 6, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Hi Kirstin,

    Yeah I stop by 1-2 a month and by then the giveaways are over! LOL

  • 3. Nichole (Heart4MyHome)  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Don’t you just love her cooking site!?! I have only made a 1 or 2 of her recipes but I like to look and see what’s cooking.

  • 4. Amy  |  May 12, 2008 at 11:46 am

    OH MY… now I must make this recipe!

    I love big beefy sandwiches… and now I’m craving this! lol Gee thanks!

  • 5. jasmine  |  May 13, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Hi Nichole,

    I have made her “best chocolate cake ever”. That is one of my main recipes now when we do cake and everyone loves it!

    I did do her lasagna one and that turned out really good too.

    I tried her pioneer rolls,pretty good.

    I can’t remember if we did this or not ~ Pico de Gallo.

    I think I wanted to, or if we did it wasn’t that memorable.

    What have you tried?

    Amy

    Hello, yeah this recipe is very good. She has some other sandwich recipes on her site too you may want to check out.

    Thanx for stopping in ladies!

  • 6. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  May 27, 2008 at 8:49 am

    […] is a really good recipe I tried a few weeks back when I made Marlboro Man Sandwiches. Here is what the sandwiches looked […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
