The best muffins ever!

June 7, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

Okay so I have to come on here today and admit I goofed! I tried Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate-chocolate chunk muffins

Thursday and it was okay, pretty good. But I felt like it was missing something. It almost tasted a little bit plain. But I knew when I went to make the dry mix up I goofed a tiny bit. The recipe calls for:

1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

I was doubling the recipe so I doubled that. The problem is I wasn’t thinking and did 2 tbs baking powder AND soda. I realized it right after I did it and tried to scoop it out but you know how that can be.

I made another mistake to. I didn’t realize it though until yesterday when I was making these muffins again but without the cocoa powder. The recipe calls for:

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

I have to admit I was preoccupied with actually MAKING butter milk! Online it says you can use 1 cup of milk and add 1 Tbs of lemon juice to make your own buttermilk. I was so busy focusing on that instead of doubling the recipe. SO I used 1 1/4 cups when it should of been 2 1/2!! LOL

kljlk

Remember when I said I liked the way the batter looked? LOL It looked like rocky road ice cream, no kidding. It was chocolatey and thick! lol

It seemed quite a bit like brownie batter and I even thought it too thick but another recipe I have used in the past, the morsels always fall all the way to the bottom so I though, maybe this is how it should be.

So I realized my mistake and what I did different also is I omitted the cocoa yesterday. It wants 1/3 a cup of cocoa for 1 batch so 2/3 doubling it.

I substituted that with more flour. When it says to melt the butter and the chocolate, I just melted butter. I used no bittersweet chocolate whatsoever. I waited until the end and added 1 cup of chocolate chip morsels to the batter and put in muffin pans.

Oh my goodness!!! WOW! Now I did try a small one soon after I baked it and it was good. Later that night I had put some in a glad ware container and I wanted one. It was a jumbo one. I took it out and WOW!!!!

I can honestly say it was the best muffin I have ever tasted in my life!!! The top was just a little bit sticky. I bit into it and it was so light and fluffy, very tender. Everything a muffin should be IMO. Someone else may want just a few more chocolate chips but I thought it was perfect. This time this muffin didn’t taste like it was missing anything. It was 100% pure delicious!!

You have got to try these muffins!!

Delicious Chocolate Chip Muffins! (inspired by Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Chocolate Chunk Muffins)

Ingredients

3/4 of a stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter
1/2 a cup of chocolate chip morsels
2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1 large egg
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Spray 12 regular muffin tins and flour, pat remaining flour out, or line with paper and spray.

Melt the butter in the microwave or a pan.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, egg and vanilla extract together until well mixed. Pour the buttermilk, eggs and vanilla and melted butter over the dry ingredients and gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t overmix. Pour the batter evenly among the muffin molds.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick in the middle of the muffins comes out clean. Put the pan on a rack to cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its tin.

Entry Filed under: muffins

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  June 8, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Hmm, I’ll have to try this recipe. I wonder if it would work as well with berries or apple chunks.

  • 2. Pam  |  June 8, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    A streusel topping would be good on it too!

  • 3. jasmine  |  June 8, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Hey Pam! This recipe is really good. I was reading over it and wanted to say that I added 1 cup of chocolate morsels for a double batch!

    Tryt these muffins and tell me what you think. They are sooo good! Get me in trouble. lol


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts

 
