The cupcakes are back!!

June 11, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

….but not for long. 😦 I was all set to use the texas sheet cake recipe and make cupcakes to sell. I was going to make 48. Usually when I do this I double the cake ingredients and one frosting is enough for all 48. Well after making the batter, my eldest dd was putting cupcake liners in and there was only 21!!!! Yikes! We had mini cupcake liners but those are more like samples. She was able to get 12 mini’s out of the rest of the batter though. BUT not before I split the batter and poured it over a sheet cake pan.

jkl

Can you see my cupcake hand towel in the back ground? I have 4 of those. SO cute.

We split the cake into 12 big pieces and sold them for $1.50 a slice. I tried to cut it equally but wasn’t able to do so. The ones we sold yesterday could barely fit in the box. In case you are wondering this box is bigger than the cookie box. It only cost .10 cents more per 125 but it is 20 oz and a little taller. WHich is good cause I think the cupcakes frosting would scrape the box. The cookie boxes are 11 oz and smaller.

All packed and ready to go. You know what I want to find? Plastic containers that have cupcake holders. You know like the ones they have in the stores so they don’t move around and touch each other? That is what I need to find.

So now I have enough frosting leftover to frost 24 cupcakes and no liners today. Grr…

Can you believe this camera? All these beautiful photos! Lots of color!!

Entry Filed under: baking,Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonshine  |  June 11, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Okay I had some time to do something other than lurk! 🙂

    love the cake!

    you are looking for other containers for cupcakes!?! I googled for you…”plastic cupcake containers” and guess what???!!! There were a number of hits!! Here is the link to one of the companies that sell the containers that you are looking for… http://www.wesellcoffee.com/page72.html
    They were cheaper/container than another place.

  • 2. Nic  |  June 12, 2008 at 4:43 am

    Looks great!

  • 3. jasmine  |  June 12, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Thanx Nic!

    Sonshine thanx so much for finding that! I googled a while back and didn’t see what I wanted and gave up. Now I need to see how much for shipping and if that would be cost efficient. You know what else I wanted that I seen over there?

    10″ HI-DOME CAKE COMBO CONTAINER

    I REALLY want those! The best I will be able to do in the stores is an aluminum foil pan which means no double layers and no frosting, boring!

    Thank you, thank you!!

  • 4. Sarah Davis  |  June 14, 2008 at 11:42 am

    I’ve been eyeing this cake since you first posted about it. We have a family reunion coming up and I think you just convinced me what to take. =)

  • 5. jasmine  |  June 15, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Hi Sarah,

    This recipe is awesome!! I pretty much renamed this cake dangerously delicious and decided alot of my recipes I have found are and so decided that would be a great name for my food blog.

    The only words of wisdom I can give you if I have not said so already is that I always use all real butter on the cake and the icing.

    If you have to scrimp, do it on the cake part, not the icing. I usually pick real butter up at Costco $7.00 for 4 lbs or Smart N Final, $6.00 for I think 3 lbs.

    Let me know how it turns out! Take pictures!!

    Oh, one other super important thing. It is very much recommended to pour the icing over the cake while both are still warm. It helps to smooth it all over the cake. Enjoy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts

 
