It is a sad day in cupcake land….

June 15, 2008 Jasmine

…. 😦 This first picture has real butter in the icing. But the problem is all 3 fell on the way to Joe’s work. 😦 Thank goodness it was just for Joe and a freebie for his 2 coworkers.

Well both butter icing frostings I have tried and love, will not stay up in the heat. Neither will this third recipe. They fall. I pmed a friend from a ladies christian board I frequent and she gave me a recipe and said to use crisco.

Crisco Cupcakes

If you know anything about me, transfat is one thing I try to stay a mile away from. Now the frosting for texas sheet cake is a flat icing and is a different subject entirely,(made with all real butter). In fact, I can even take those other two white icing recipes, add some cocoa to them and they are fine.

But some people(customers) do not care about transfat, they want white icing or colored icing and nothing looks neater than a cupcake with icing that stands straight up and is sprinkled.

SO I caved. I bought a container of crisco.

Aren’t they beautiful though? A while back I bought Wilton’s icing coloring box. I use my decorator kit and put some blue icing in and some green or other color on top. Eventually one color runs out but some remains and mixes with the next color. Neat.

What color frosting do you like on your cupcakes?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  June 15, 2008 at 9:22 am

    I’d like either plain vanilla white or light green frosting on my cupcakes. Yours look amazing and makes me wish we were neighbors.

    I enjoy your blog and usually lurk. Thanks for sharing.

  • 2. Gill  |  June 15, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    would you like to share the recipe?

  • 3. jasmine  |  June 16, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Hi Gill. Let me ask the lady who sent it to me if she minds and I’ll let you know.

    Meanwhile here is a link to Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes, which is the cake I used and has the butter frosting on there(the one that falls when it gets to warm unless you add cocoa.)

    Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes

  • 4. jasmine  |  June 16, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Hi Susan,

    Don’t lurk, say hello! lol I use a Cupcake Heaven Dessert Decorator made by Wilton, it includes 4 decorating tips. Mine is blue though and plastic and wasn’t $32.00.

    I have a box of icing colors from Michaels and add one color and pt more in on top and it kind of fades in to the next color.

    The cupcake on the left is green, the bottom one is blue and a little green and the one on the right is pink with a little bit of blue.

    I think it came out really neat.

    I would like to get better at decorating cakes though.

    So far I have my dh help with those cause he did that in job corp.

    Believe me my neighbors do love me. LOL Some of them anyways.

  • 5. jasmine  |  June 16, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Okay Gill I got her approval,

    The “It won’t melt and fall off” frosting


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts

 
