Apple Spice Cake

June 30, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

Well my friend Pam over at Kid’s Kitchen was kind enough to share one of her recipes with us. She is an awesome baker and even sells her baked goods at her local farmers market. Thanx for sharing Pam!

I didn’t try the red food coloring.

I didn’t have a bundt pan.

But I don’t let silly things like that stop me. 😉

See the chunks of apple?

I baked it in a regular rectangular baking pan for 60 minutes. Okay so it was very different from anything I have ever tried before. I thought it was very good. Now apples are never my first choice for dessert though. Fudgy chocolate cake would still be my first choice for cake. But this was different and it was very good. One thing I was really surprised by was how moist it was. Even the next day I had it covered with a lid and it is so dark you just automatically think it will be hard.

It just falls apart in your hands it is so moist!! I thought the little chunks of apple in it look so cute too.

I honestly think anyone who is an apple lover and likes spices will fall head over heels for this cake.

Can you see the zest of orange in the batter?

My husband calls it apple pie meets cake. He thought it was delicious.

The kids all enjoyed it as well. I made this Wed., the day before camping to take with us. We all had a little bit that night cause we were full from dinner. But the next day I went out to get it and didn’t even wait for a plate or a fork or a knife. I just grabbed a piece.

Everyone else did like wise and before our friends even met up with us Friday afternoon this cake was a complete goner!!

Next time I will have to get a bundt pan and try it like that. Thanx again Pam!! I need to ask pam if she minds me reposting her recipe.

Okay I just talked to Pam and she said I could post it. Yeah!

And To You Your Wassail Too Christmas Bundt Cake

(I call it “Wassail Cake” for short, but I just call it Apple Spice Cake when it is for sale so I don’t have to explain it.)

Essay: The Christmas carol, “Here We Go A-Wassailing,” is the inspiration for this cake. Wassailing is known today as Christmas caroling, and the carolers would receive wassail as they sang door-to-door. The flavor of wassail, a warm spiced Christmas punch, is found in both the cake and the glaze.

Cake Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 ½ cup brown sugar
1 ½ cup sugar
6 large eggs
1 ½ cup unsweetened applesauce
2 teaspoons baking soda
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground cloves
½ teaspoon salt
3 cups chopped apples (Granny Smith)
Zest of 1 orange
Vegetable shortening and flour to coat pan, or a baking spray with flour

Glaze Ingredients:
1 cup powdered sugar
4 tsp orange juice (from zested orange)
¼ tsp cinnamon
Red food coloring

Garnish:
Orange slices
Apple slices (dipped in lemon juice to prevent browning)
Cinnamon Sticks
1 Tbsp Powdered sugar for dusting

To prepare the cake:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. (If using a dark pan, reduce temperature by 25 degrees.)
Grease a 12-cup classic Bundt pan with vegetable shortening and coat with flour, tapping out the excess flour, or spray pan with a baking spray that contains flour.
Beat butter with an electric mixer at medium speed about 2 minutes, or until creamy. Then, gradually add sugars. Beat at medium speed about 5 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating only until the yoke disappears.
Combine applesauce and baking soda, and set aside.
Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt. Set aside ½ cup of the flour mixture.
Add the remainder of the flour mixture to the butter mixture, alternately with applesauce mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Mix on low speed just until blended.
Fold in the orange zest.
Toss the chopped apples with the reserved ½ cup of flour mixture, and then fold into batter.
Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on wire rack 10 minutes, then remove from pan, and allow cake to cool completely on wire rack. (Note: This is a very moist cake, and may stick to the pan. Be patient during the removal process.)

To prepare glaze:

Combine ingredients and stir to make glaze. If glaze is too thick add more orange juice. If too thin, add more powdered sugar.
Pour glaze over cooled cake.

Dust with powdered sugar. Garnish with cinnamon sticks and slices of apples and oranges.

Entry Filed under: baking,cakes,recipes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  July 3, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Hey! I’ve been too busy baking to see the picture of the cake you made from my recipe, but it looks great! That is very interesting that you made it in a regular baking pan. Glad it came out good for you! Check your local thrift stores for a bundt pan. That’s where I got mine, and I see them there all the time.

  • 2. jasmine  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Hello Pam,

    Yeah it only needed to bake for an hour in that pan. I didn’t have a bundt pan then. But I found a great sale two days ago, I will blog about that later.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts

 
