4th of July Cupcakes!

July 2, 2008 Jasmine
Tags:

Well I picked up some mini flags from a party supply store a few weeks back. I colored the icing red and blue. I searched 5 different stores looking for 4th of July sprinkles. Finally found them a week or so ago at Joann’s craft. I went on the hunt for a decent sugar cookie recipe. I found one. It uses a touch of lemon extract and is marvelous.

So yesterday I baked up 4th of July sugar cookies and cupcakes, decorated them all cute. Even hurt my left arm and wrist cause the icing was so thick, trying to squeeze it out of the cupcake heaven decorator machine. But when I added 1 extra tbs, the icing was too thin. Maybe next time 1 tsp? We made up some cake too.

2 cakes, 36 cupcakes. 24 of the cupcakes got ruined because they were on the lower shelf of the oven and the bottoms got slightly crispy. Okay to eat but not to sell. This oven is brand new and only 1 year old!

6 of the 12 decent cupcakes got ruined because I was fighting with the frosting. As soon as it left the house it started melting! I tried scraping it off and redecorating but…umm…yeah.

My timer on my microwave is on the fritz so I was trying to use the timer on my cell.

So here I was slaving away over a hot stove on a hot day, hurting myself, trying to give out instructions to my 15 y/o on what to do to help, etc. We were also making 140 chocolate chip cookies. 72 sugar cookies, 4 other kids running amuck, husband calling on the phone, kids wanting lunch and somewhere in the middle of all this I also burnt the chocolate chip cookies.

Not all of them. Just 2 pans. But still, that is 40 cookies!

So after after all that time and effort and prep for the cupcakes what do you think we wind up selling the most of yesterday?

Chocolate chip cookies!!

I can’t say I am surprised. Everyone loves these cookies.

We sold 12 $2.00 boxes(6 each) of chocolate chip cookies and 1 $5.00 box(16). Even gave away 1 $2.00 box + a piece of cake away to the person who spent $13.00 buying just chocolate chip cookies.

When my eldest son came back and told me he sold the 2 $3.00 cupcake boxes, I think I hugged him. lol

He also sold 2 cake boxes.

We actually sold out of the cookies last night. There was 1 box left and some kid stopped by last night asking to buy a box. Thank goodness we had 1 more box.

Today I have exactly 2 stix of butter left. I made half a batch of cookies this morning and that should make up 70 cookies. That will hopefully be enough to tide the cookie fans over til I can go shopping tomorrow and buy some more butter.

Where is a cow when I need one?

What kind of dessert will you have on the 4th?

Entry Filed under: baking,cupcakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  July 3, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Last year I made a flag cake (with strawberries, bananas, and blueberries), but this year I have been put in charge of chips drinks. That is fine because I really don’t have time to bake another thing!

  • 2. jasmine  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Hi Pam. The flag cake sounds neat. You’ll get off easy with chips and drinks. Have fun!

  • 3. Dangerously Delicious Rec&hellip  |  July 7, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    […] heard that right. We were paid $20.00 to bake and make 1 dozen cupcakes for the 4th of July! Click here for pics of the cupcakes sent out earlier in the week. Earlier in the week we made up the boxes […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
