$20.00 for a dozen cupcakes!!!

July 7, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

Yes you heard that right. We were paid $20.00 to bake and make 1 dozen cupcakes for the 4th of July! Click here for pics of the cupcakes sent out earlier in the week. Earlier in the week we made up the boxes with 2 cupcakes + 2 sugar cookies for $2.00 or 3 cupcakes + 3 cookies for $3.00.

I figured we would decorate them early cause people would be excited about the 4th plus just in case any one wanted a bigger order and wanted a dozen or something.

One of Chris’ regular peanut butter cookie customers, his wife, told Chris she would give us $20.00 for a dozen cupcakes for the 4th of July!!

I couldn’t believe my ears and kept asking him, you mean 2 dozen? Nope. You mean 1 dozen and some cookies? Nope.

1 dozen cupcakes for $20.00!!

You would think someone would offer $12.00 for 12, not $20.00!!

So I sent him out the 3rd to find out when they wanted them and he came back with $20.00 saying right NOW!

SO I nervously whipped up 18 cupcakes and prayed they wouldn’t give me any hassles or not bake properly. lol

Joey helped me with the frosting on these ones. I still couldn’t get past the extra money and kind of felt bad and thought I don’t want them to think I am ripping them off. Even though she was the one who suggested $20.00 without even asking us how much for 12? I would of said $10.00.

$2.00 cookie box

So I packed up a $5.00 chocolate chip cookie box as a bonus and 12 sugar cookies to go along with it. That way I hoped they would feel they were getting a better value for their money and make more orders like this in the future. (They usually order 1-2 peanut butter cookie boxes at a time.)

I was so nervous. Someone paying us $20.00 for a dozen cupcakes?!? IMO they had better be PERFECT!!! hahahah

Another of Chris’ regulars bought a $2.00 cookie box and wanted some more cupcakes, Chris had only 1 box with him and called and asked if we had 3 more $3.00 cupcake boxes here at home ready and if they could get a discount cause they buy often and in volume.

I said, “Yes of course.”

I knocked the 3 bucks down to $2.50 per box. 12 cupcakes + 12 sugar cookies for $10.00.

The only thing I feel bad about is having to send the $20.00 order out in an aluminum box. I looked at the party supply store earlier in the week and seen a cute 18 cupcake box. It looks like those pink donut boxes only it is white with a see through plastic window and is rectangular shaped. I wanted to get it but Joe said it would be too flimsy. *sigh*

After the fact , my aunt said that is what people pick up from bakery’s all the time. You just have to be careful. People should know this.

Joe said yeah but Chris carrying this. I said, “There is no way I am having Chris take these dozen $20.00 cupcakes to someones house!!”

We delivered them that night ourselves along with Chris!! I wasn’t about ready to let them out of my sight. HAHAHA

He’s like,”Well what do I know?” hehehehe

I am going to pick up a few of those 18 cupcake boxes. Does anyone know if I need some kind of an insert too?

Entry Filed under: baking,buisiness

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic  |  July 7, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Wow, good for you! I cannot give you advice.. sorry!

  • 2. Gill  |  July 7, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I am impressed. I had a home business in Britain that I sold baked goods. I remember hand writing small flyers out and hand delivering them to all the houses in our town of 2,000 people. Those were the days….

    Is yours a home based business?

  • 3. Pam  |  July 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    WOW! It is truly amazing what some people will pay for home baked goods.

  • 4. Dana  |  July 8, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    wow that is a lot! btw, you have some great looking recipes here! 🙂

  • 5. jasmine  |  July 16, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Hi Nic,

    That is okay. Good to see ya!

    Hi Gill,

    You are impressed, I about fell over. lol That is great you have done the same thing. Feel free to email me any pointers. I Have a pretty good head on my shoulders but there is always room for improvement. I will email ya.

    Pam,

    Yes it is. now I just have to get that through my sons head. He thinks the cookies are worth that nut sometimes he bumps into someone who thinks that is too expensive.

    We have told him these are gourmet cookies, not crap that sits on the shelf for 6 months made in some factory. We use real butter in everything except that one icing that needs to be poofy, not margarine and NOT transfat!

    Dana,

    Hi. Thanx for joining us. If you see anything you want to make and the recipe is not listed let me know.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
