Banana bread mini loaves!!

July 14, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

I know they look big in the picture but they are not. They are mini loaves and are half a pound each. I know because I even weighed them. haha

So a few weeks ago I made banana bread and sliced it up into small $2 slice packs. They all sold. Made 1 small loaf of bread that sold too.

SInce then I have been wanting to get mini loaf pans, for the people who want to try it but don’t yet want to commit to a whole loaf. So I bought 8 and then we had 4th of July so I was focused on cupcakes and sugar cookies.

But that is behind us and now it is time to bake bread, white bread and banana bread and when I feel like it, cinnamon bread. Yeah!

I am also deliriously happy because I found the perfect sized pans. I have some HUGE pans and some medium pans. But they weren’t quite what I wanted.

I looked all over. I wanted something even smaller but wasn’t sure what. Well I found what I was looking for. At the .99 cents store of all places!

See how cute they are all packaged up and ready to sell.

The issue is the HUGE loaf pans I would want to sell that loaf of white for $4.00. If it was a banana loaf like that I would want $10.00! Yeah try making that fly. LOL

Now here is the thing. A few weeks ago people bought like 2 small slices for $2.00 each! I think it was about 1/4 of a loaf of bread. A big loaf I think.

It was getting confusing with making small round loaves and some banana muffins and trying to figure out exactly how much batter went into each.

;p';l'' So I figured I needed to get serious. Get mini loaf pans make up a double batch and see exactly how many pans it would fill.

I did that today. One double batch and I was so happy. It filled exactly 8 mini loaf pans! It was 8 cups of batter all together. They also fit perfectly on my cookie sheet.

WHat made me even happier was the new pans I bought. The batter fit perfectly into 4 of those.

kjk

Perfection. 8 mini loaves or 4 small loaves. Or two humongous loaves if I wanted for myself.

The hardest thing today was figuring out pricing. Two weeks ago I sliced it up into $2.00 2 slice packs and they actually sold. If I find a pic later I will edit and post it. The one loaf that did sell was a small loaf similiar to the 1 pound ones shown here. I had wanted $6.00 but it sold for $4.00 BUT the family had already bough like $8.00 in stuff earlier so it was time to cut a deal.

The mini loaves are a bit bigger than the 2 slices that sold previously so I went ahead and marked them for $3.00 each or 2/$5.00. The 16 oz loaf is marked at $5.00. We’ll see how it goes.

I use only real butter and bake everything fresh. How much would you be willing to spend on a 16 oz loaf of fresh banana bread with real butter?

Entry Filed under: baking,breads

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gill  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    They look good, glad you found the loaf pans. How about $2.50 or $3 each?

    Gill

  • 2. Nic  |  July 16, 2008 at 3:58 am

    Nice! Since I’m from the other end of the world and think in Euros, I can’t help you on the price thing..

  • 3. jasmine  |  July 16, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Hi Gill and Nic,

    Thanx. That is what I think too. $3.00 each or so people can get a “deal”, 2/$5.00.

    I made the cutest cupcakes yesterday. Wait til you both see them!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
