Okay so the baking the other day did NOT…

August 16, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

We did this banana cream pie a week or so ago. Just thought I would toss this in since I don’t have any cake pics yet. šŸ˜¦

…go as planned. I set out to bake 2 6 inch cakes and 2 8 inch cakes. I have 4 new 9 inch spring form pans which I adore but that is not 8 inches is it?

A few years back we bought at Michaels a set of 4 pans. 6, 8, 10, and 12 inches.

SO I used the 6 in’ twice and the 8 in once. And the bakers secret pans I used to use for brownies are supposed to be 8 inches. Guess what? They aren’t!

That stupid cake came out browner than the one in the wilton pan, lopsided and bigger!

I even carefully measured out what the guidelines online said.

It was very good but next time we need more bananas! 2.75 cups for each 8 inch and 1.5 cups for each 6 inch and my batter was 9 cups so I had just enough left for 2 cupcakes.

I measured the 8 inch pans and the 2 cuppys(1/4 cup each) and the first 6 inch. The rest of the batter would be for the 6 inch. Well same pan but it must of had more batter left over because it came out a little taller.
UGGHHHH.

Yes aggravating. No big deal if its for you but if someone says they want a double layered 8 inch cake and 2 6 inches that are 2 inches in height or whatever, it needs to be correct, KWIM?

So now I know liquid measuring cups are different than dry and I have those. But what I want to know is batter considered liquid? SO do I measure the batter in my liquid measuring cup? Grrrrrr

Then to make things even more annoying every site says something different.

One site said 2.75 cups for an 8 inch cake, wilton.com said 3.5 cups for an 8 inch cake, and I did go buy one more wilton 8 inch pan since the bakers secret pan was a joke and the insert which is from wilton says to make an 8 inch round, 2 inch high cake, use 3 cups of batter!

Yes I am annoyed.

I am thinking 3 cups sounds best. Especially since my favorite yellow cake recipe makes 9

cups of batter. I could do 3 8 inch cakes or 2 8 inch cakes and 12 cupcakes!

I saved the 2 6 inchers and am going to remake the 8 inchers today. That works okay because I also wanted to make yellow cuppys anyways.

Entry Filed under: baking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic  |  August 16, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Here in Europe we measure baking ingredients by weight. Everybody has a kitchen scale, and that makes it easier to be precies than the American cup-system. I can imagine your annoyment.

  • 2. jasmine  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:44 am

    That is what I need to get! I have a small one. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
