Apple Cinnamon Spice Cake II

August 25, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,

mnkj

Okay so I made this once before, a few months ago. I didn’t have a bundt pan then though. Now as far as taste goes it is extremely moist and very sweet, great if you like a spicy cake. This one should be good for the holidays.

I wanted to make it again and get some better pics though.

This cake has 3 green apples, chopped. 1 orange is zested. It uses the juice from the orange to make a glaze. I added red and green food coloring.

It is supposed to be baked in a 12 cup bundt pan. I am not sure how many cups mine is but I think it is closer to 10. So I pulled out 4 baby bundt pans and put half a cup in each.

Slice:

jiooi

The ingredients alone cost $7 and all I can think is those stores selling bundt cakes for $10.00 each. I know Costco has a lemon glaze one and I think that one is $7.69!

Of course they can get ingredients much cheaper and also use cheap ingredients.

Mini:

ghg

Thanx to Pam over at Kids Kitchen for giving me this fabulous recipe!

What kind of bundt cake do you like to make?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Looks great! I made one just this past Friday for the market. I charge $18 for a whole, or $2.50 per slice (8 slices).

    I don’t know how Sam’s sells their cakes so cheap, but they are not as good as homemade.

  • 2. jasmine  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I know how they do it. LOL

    Check out my brand new chocolate cake w/strawberrys!!

  • 3. jasmine  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Well you know your intended market and what people will pay. The cake in the middle is 10 cups and I sliced that into 16 pieces. I sent it out and charged $2.00 a slice. The mini bundts are slightly smaller and they went out for $2.00 a cake.

    I would sell all for $30.00.

    Don’t know if I’ll get it or not.

    LOL

    If it was just an hour total work, plus baking, maybe $22 -$25, but you got to peel and chop and zest and squeeze. I am thinking it takes maybe an hour and a half. With baking and all.

  • 4. Nic  |  August 25, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Oo this looks and sounds delicious. I love a moist spicy cake!

  • 5. Gill  |  August 27, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    can you give me the link to the recipe please?

    Gill

  • 6. jasmine  |  August 27, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Nic,

    I am very partial to chocolate cake, but for a fruity, spicy cake this is excellent!

    Hi Gill,

    No problem. Pam shared this recipe with me. Here is a link to her blog about it:

    Pam’s Apple Cinnamon Spice Cake
    Come back and let us know how you like it!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
