Our Princess Tiara cake w/ stars!!

October 1, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: , , ,

Yippee!! I am really excited about this one!! This is our first stacked cake we have done. I used the vivid setting on the camera so the colors came out darker and more vibrant. I like the darker better and when we make this cake again I am going to tell Joe to make it darker.

Joe is really getting good at decorating. I am so proud of him. I was at the party supply store looking for ideas and found the tiara and boa and stars and knew it was just what I was looking for. Next time I will tell him I want the pink even darker though. The princess cake is a 1 layer 6″, double layer 8″ and a double layer 10″. It took me 4 hours JUST to make and bake this! I can only do one “batch” of my cake mix at a time(from scratch). I used two batches of MY cake mix for this cake. (I am emphasizing my, cause my mix is = to about 3, 8″ rounds, not a mix like from a store.)

Here it is with a feather boa as a pro and in “regular” lighting.

Anyways so I got the dry ingred. ready at the same time but to do each batch with mixing it in the bowl I can only fit one batch at a time and I have a 5 qt mixing bowl!

I have two 8″ pans but only one 6″ and one 10″ pan. So to double up on those I needed to bake in shifts! But like I said the batches wouldn’t all be done at the same time anyways.

The first batch was like 10 1/4 cups. I used 2 cups on the 6″, 6 on the 10″ and poured the rest into the 8″ but it wasn’t enough.

The 10″ took 65 minutes in the oven! The 6″ took about 45 or so minutes, can’t remember exactly. Then you have to let those cool in the pan for 15 minutes before taking them out to cool on the racks. THEN you can use them again.

bottom tiers

So when they were in the oven I got the other batch ready. With the amount of batter I only had enough for the cakes I did. And actually one of the 10″ I had to skimp a tiny bit on one of those. So there wasn’t enough mix for a double layer 6″.

So in other words if I had to make up more batter and etc, etc, that would of taken alot longer just for one more 6″! haha

Anyways 3 hours of solid work on this. The last hour was the other 10″ in the oven. So 4 total. I had to clean and then chill the mixing bowl for the pastry pride whipped cream, otherwise I could of whipped it up then.

Joe came home and after relaxing for a bit we spent 30 minutes, me whipping up the filling and putting some into a container for later, chopping banana, and him cutting the tops of the cake to make it even, cutting the 6″ in half. Coloring some icing and making a dam. Then freezer time for those.

After we cut into the top layer. Looks like a big decorated suzie q to me. lol

So about an hour later we went back in. I just watched and did other stuff in the kitchen but he spent from 5:40 til 7:45. Part of this time too was finding what he needed and setting up.

So 3 hours my time
1 hour JUST baking time(I wasn’t in the kitchen then, but still you have to be home, lol)
30 minutes for each of us, our time
2 hours Joes time.

So technnically 7 hours, that is disregarding the time it was in the freezer cooling off. Which is time you would still have to be home, but if you had a legitimate buisiness, you could be doing other prep work at that time.

Our typical 1/4 sheet cake right now takes us 4 hours total. So there is more time involved, this was a simple design so imagine if there was roses or bows or whatever else…lol

Plus you have more money to spend out, wooden dowel rods, the pillars, the plates that go in between, etc.

Here is a link to the bigger picture of this.

WHat does everyone thing? Does this look nice enough for a kids elaborate birthday party?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki  |  October 1, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Hey I am so happy you did this. My daughters b-day will be soon. She wants princess stuff for it. I couldn’t figure out what to do. I plan to make a doll cake, but that will not feed many people. So I can do something like this.
    Thanks

  • 2. jasmine  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Hi Nikki,

    Good to see you. I have lots of ideas.
    When I get back later I will talk to you about them.

  • 3. jasmine  |  October 2, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Okay Nikki first of all how many people do you need this for? What else are you having at the party?

    If you are having food and cake, people won’t eat as much cake. If it is just cake, people tend to eat more.

    The sizes I did are:

    the top is a 6″, 1 layer
    the middle is an 8″, 2 layer
    the top is a 10″ 2 layer.

    That is alot of cake.

    This is a link to the wilton guide for party cakes: Party cakes

    They say a serving of “party cake” is 20 for a double layer 8″ and 28 for a double layer 10″. I usually cut an 8″ double cake into 16 slices and they are pretty generous portions. We cut this 8″ into 20 slices and they were very thin. Maybe perfect for a kid but for an adult I would want 2 slices.

    Here is a link to how wilton recommends to put together this cake.

    Combination Pillar & Stacked Construction

    Or if you don’t want to deal with a stacked cake with pillars, you could always just make 2 8″ rounds and 2 6″ rounds. When Joe and I did that we had a 6″ cardboard circle we bought from wiltons to separate the two cakes. But that doesn’t take as much money or effort as having to buy cake plates and pillars and dowels.

    You could also bake a 9 x 13. You can do something like this tiara and sceptor. I think I paid $4.00 for it. If you just want a tiara, that is fine too. Get a tiara from somewhere like the ones I showed you and check out the pic in my blog.


    blog link

    It is a chocolate cupcake so you can’t see the wrapper, but it is a themed princess tiara wrapper. See the toothpick topper?

    I got those at wilton. They are 24 for $2.14.

    I have a from scratch cake mix recipe that is equivalent to the size of 3 8″ rounds. I use that for all my chocolate 1/4 sheet cakes and they come out huge. You can easily feed 30 people.

    Here is a link to pics of that.

    link

    2nd link

    Here is where I blogged about it:

    blog link

    Here is another idea you can do. this is a double layered 8″ round with 12 princess cupcakes around it. If you like disney I can tell you where you may be able to get it or something similiar. OR, You can get the tiara cupcake liners and do that instead with the big tiara in the middle. ANy more questions feel free to ask and I must see pics of what you come up with!

    http://dangerouslydeliciousrecipes.com/blog/?p=238

  • 4. Gill  |  October 2, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    that looks like the perfect cake for a princess, great colours, did you save me a slice?

    Gill

  • 5. nikki  |  October 2, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Thanks for the info. I have about 22-29 days to plan this. It depends which Saturday we have the party. I will let you know how it goes.

  • 6. jasmine  |  October 4, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Hi Gill,

    as a matter of fact I did. I will have to find where I hit it first though. lol

    hi Nikki,

    You are welcome. I can’t wait to see how it turns out! God Bless!

  • 7. Indie  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Just beautiful!!!

  • 8. Jasmine  |  July 2, 2009 at 5:19 am

    Thanx Glow!

  • 9. Alyisa  |  December 8, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    How much would this cake probably be?


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
