Everyone loves the sugar cookies!!

July 14, 2008 Jasmine
Tags: ,


Strangely enough we are selling equal amounts of these as we are chocolate chip cookies! I never thought I’d say that. lol The week of 4th of July I had wanted to do sugar cookies because I thought they would be cute to sprinkle and decorate for 4th of July.

So I found a really good recipe in one of my cookbooks and we sent a few $2.00 boxes out along with the chocolate cookie boxes but none sold. I was kind of sad. They were really good. I was also trying to figure out a way to make sure we boosted these cupcakes up to $1.00 each and get people out of the mindset that cupcakes need to cost .50 cents each.

So 3 cupcakes, meet 3 small sugar cookies! Now it is more of a “deal”. So I sent those out and it was actually the 4th we started getting some feed back. First one of our regular choc. chip cookie customers and her mom(both adults) wanted a box, then another one.

Then one of my sons friends Uncle bought a $5.00 cookie box and a $3.00 cupcake box(which had 3 sugar cookies in it). He liked the cookies so much he wanted another $5.00 cc cookie box and he wanted us to make him a $3.00 sugar cookie box as well!

Since he bought so much we wound up sending him another free box as well.

That is when I first thought, maybe these will sell after all. 🙂

Last week(the week after the 4th) Chris only went out selling 2 days. We went to the beach on Saturday but he had a few orders lined up so we wound up saleing a little before we left for the beach that day too.

Joe actually took Chris on a few runs on Friday and sometimes it is good to do that because you get some feed back. He was selling sugar cookies and cupcakes mainly that day plus he had only 4 boxes of cc that day. All sold of course.

He ran into one of his regulars and the lady ran up to the van talking to Joe saying she just loved his wife’s stuff. Her favorite was brownies and cc cookies though and could we make her up a special order?

Sure no problem. She wanted $4.00 in brownies (4) and $3.00 in cc cookies(9) for the following day. So we did that before we left and I threw in 3 extra cookies since she ordered so much.

Chris seen her again today and she said she wants another order like that for Thursday. Cool.

I told him to tell her if she wants to make it $8.00 instead of $7.00 we will give her $10.00 in food for $8.00.

That is usually the price break we give people who buy alot. “buy $8.00 in cookies or a combo and get $2.00 free.

This was her box. I bought some new 49 oz containers. They cost double what both the 11 oz and 20 oz containers cost but they hold alot more. Good deal. .17 cents each.

Lately we have been making $5.00 cookie boxes up as well. There are 6 cookies to a $2.00 box so at 3/$1.00 that would be 15 cookies. We give them 18. They are happy, we are happy. Yeah!

Anyhow, back to the sugar cookies.

$73.00 in sales

8 $2.00 ccc boxes + 1 $5.00 box = 66 chocolate chip cookies, that one special order, so 12 ccc =78 chocolate chip cookies

But we sold 11 sugar cookie boxes. 11 x 6 = 66
Plus there were 4 cupcakes boxes with 3 in each, so 12 cookies, so 78 sugar cookies total.

Oooh. I guess last week amazingly enough it was right on the dot equal.

While we are at it, there was 3 cupcake boxes that sold and 1 was given away free to a customer who bought like $10.00 in stuff.

22 brownies sold.

Today the total was $32.50. ( We sold a $2.00 loaf of white bread as well + a $5.00 loaf of banana bread we sold for $2.50 because the person bought $8.00 in cookies and one of her friends bought a $2.00 box as well, so instead of something free we just disc. the banana bread. )

We sold 39 sugar cookies and 42 cc cookies. I can’t believe they are almost tied with the choc. chip. But I shouldn’t be too surprised. Yesterday I had 3 cc and 6 sugar cookies. They are THAT good!

What is your favorite? Chocolate chip or sugar cookies?

Entry Filed under: cookies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gill  |  July 15, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    It all depends on what type of chocolate chip you use. If you use milk chocolate chips, then they are my favourites. Otherwise it would be the sugar cookie.

    Which reminds me I haven’t made sugar cookies in a long time.

    Gill from Canada

  • 2. jasmine  |  July 16, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Hi Gill,

    I use Nestle tollhouse chocolate chips. Of you ever want my sugar cookie recipe let me know. 🙂 This oine is really good. i use real butter and add a little bit of lemon extract so it has a nice tang!


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts